nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Girls on Top (Mädchen, Mädchen) (2001)

  Directed by: Dennis Gansel
Written by: Maggie Peren, Christian Zübert
Starring: Diana Amft, Andreas Christ, Karoline Herfurth, Max Riemelt, Felicitas Woll
Links: Girls on Top on the IMDb, Official site
Genre: Comedy

This movie gets: 2.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

Girls on Top (Mädchen, Mädchen) (2001) is also mentioned in pearly's review of Sextasy (2004).

"*yawn*" - a review by pearly

Is there anything better than a Saturday night foreign language T'n'A film on SBS? If there is, I'm not aware of it.

In the T'n'A stakes, Girls on Top is relatively tame, which, considering that its main characters are high school students, is probably for the best. The film focuses on the attempts of three girls, Inken (Diana Amft), Lena (Karoline Herfurth), and Victoria (Felicitas Woll), to have the perfect orgasm. Wunderbah! The girls aren't very experienced in such matters, though, so lots of it comes down to discussion of techniques etc.

Girls on Top is kinda like a more raunchy version of a teen film - it's got the gals and their relationships with the boys, the light humour, the trials of going through puberty, and the frivolous plot. And of course there's the fact that it's basically pretty crap.

I would recommend it to the kind of people who enjoyed Scary Movie (2000). I would, except that the fact that it's German language probably makes it all too difficult for them. So I won't.

Girls on Top is the kind of film you'll watch and be unimpressed by as you're watching it, and then, in a week or so, you'll have forgotten it even exists. And given I watched it over a week ago, I've now run out of things to say about it.

pearly gives this movie 2 out of 10.
Review created on Wed 23 Jun 2004

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 100%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. I just watched this movie and I thought it was great. Why 2/10? Either you aren't a very funny person or you aren't funny period.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Une on Sun 05 Jun 2005 00:13 #

  2. I totally agree with Une on this one, it seems that SBS has shown it again this year. I missed out on seeing it last year and was grateful to catch it this year.

    I thought it was great, and very funny in parts. For a film that has such silly premise it really does very well. If not a great film in terms of plot, it makes up for this by haveing some hilarious situations.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Dylan on Sun 05 Jun 2005 00:20 #

  3. Just watched it (4th June 05)... Very entertaining! Slightly offbeat, funny at times, thoroughly enjoyable!

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from LaVazza on Sun 05 Jun 2005 00:39 #

  4. I watched this last night. I didn't think that it was that bad. I think it's better than some other teen movies.

    Rating given: 6

    A comment from Amy on Sun 05 Jun 2005 20:39 #

  5. I wouldn't relate Girls On Top to Scary Movie, I think Pearly got the wrong idea about what type of audience this movie is meant to attract. Girls On Top is a chickflick. Scary Movie is for stoned teenage boys. There's a difference. I disliked Scary Movie, and I liked this movie. It's just a cute, silly little film to show the humour and fun in being a teenage girl and becoming a woman. I think the movie has a kind of similar feel to it as Muriel's Wedding, even though it's younger and less original. There were parts of it that were typical for a teen movie, but those scenes were necessary, because it was showing the 3 girls' daily lives, and that's what teenage girls experience. I would definitely say Girls On Top is a deeper movie than Scary Movie.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Jennifer on Mon 06 Jun 2005 03:54 #

  6. pearly is, as i think we have all agreed by now, a bit of a duffer.
    speaking as a girl, i found this movie very funny, and very sexy at the same time, which doesn't often happen. i mean, when inken grabs that telegraph pole and orgasms in the middle of the street... spectacular.
    i'll certainly be getting my bike out and putting the seat waaaaay up high...

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from wegglywoo (http://wegglywoo.blogspot.com) on Tue 14 Jun 2005 01:13 #

  7. hye can anybody email me a url to see this movie on the web?? ty

    A comment from spencer on Tue 25 Nov 2008 10:50 #

  8. my emails is killer20010@hotmail.com

    A comment from spencer on Tue 25 Nov 2008 10:51 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 8.17 (6 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 8 Best Adapted Screenplay Oscars and win 3 more Best Adapted Screenplay Oscars, how many Best Adapted Screenplay Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.