nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Hedgehog in the Fog (Yozhik v tumane) (1975)

  Directed by: Yuri Norstein
Written by: Sergei Kozlov
Links: Hedgehog in the Fog on the IMDb, Buy on DVD
Genre: Short

This movie gets: 8.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

Hedgehog in the Fog (Yozhik v tumane) (1975) is also mentioned in pearly's review of Tale of Tales (1979).

"Disney it ain't" - a review by pearly

I caught a screening of this Russian short film when I visited the Ghibli Museum in Tokyo. From the 3rd of January to the 9th of May 2004, the museum had a special exhibit of the work of Russian animator Yuri Norstein, including hardcopy versions of his drawings and layered animation cells, as well as two short film screenings: this film, and Tale of Tales (1979).

The downside for me was that the films are natively Russian, and I was watching them in Japan, so I could understand neither the spoken portions (I don't speak Russian) nor the subtitles (I don't read or speak Japanese). However, with Hedgehog in the Fog at least, this didn't prove to be too much of an obstacle to enjoyment.

Hedgehog in the Fog is a cute film about a hedgehog who finds himself lost in fog whilst on his way to visit a bear. The story is told mainly with pictures, which is why the language gap didn't matter too much. There is some narration and some speaking done by the main characters, but the characters often just communicate with sounds rather than words, and the words are not so important in the overall scheme of things.

The animation style is very beautiful, with the fog leading to minimal settings, and even though the film is quite dark in looks, it still manages to be very cute. I especially liked the owl. And what I liked even more was hearing the shrieks of joy from the cute little Japanese kids whenever the animals did something cool. Things always seem more special in a different setting.

pearly gives this movie 8 out of 10.
Review created on Tue 18 May 2004

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 100%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. Upon a fifth or sixth viewing, this piece reveals itself to be animation of the highest artistic order. It has been voted the "best" piece of animation by several industry groups.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from John Reifel on Sat 26 Jun 2004 09:05 #

  2. I think it's real animation... in right meaning of that word

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Puzan (http://www.xanga.com/papiroska) on Sat 06 Nov 2004 09:05 #

  3. I saw it several times. I must say I didn't understand from the first. But I think it's a really nice cartoon.It's maybe not made for little children because it has deep meaning.But for me is one of the best cartoons ever..

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from klevetnik on Sat 06 Nov 2004 09:12 #

  4. cltaire

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from kltr on Wed 10 Nov 2004 15:20 #

  5. The best movie in the world

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Andrey on Mon 15 Nov 2004 17:27 #

  6. it is beautiful and very ZEN, and therefore can be understood by little children and sophisticated grown-ups alike...

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from olyushka on Sun 28 Nov 2004 07:00 #

  7. You don't need to speak any language to understand "Hedgehog in the Fog". It's the most universal little movie for kids and adults alike. The Best animated piece I've ever seen.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from helen (http://www.helendardik.com) on Sat 04 Dec 2004 03:39 #

  8. *The* best universal movie ever made. I advise everyone to read some tales of Kozlov.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Michael on Mon 06 Dec 2004 04:42 #

  9. really the best movie ever made

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from vlado on Sat 24 Sep 2005 23:48 #

  10. Un film straordinario!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Andrea (http://it.geocities.com/kenoms3/riccio.pdf ) on Mon 06 Feb 2006 23:46 #

  11. I believe the words are very important to this animation. It gets a whole new meaning when the words and the narration are understood. If you feel like seeing it again, you can download the animation here http://ejik.kulichki.net/video/ejik_v_tumane.avi
    and the english subtitles here http://subtitles.images.o2.cz/d/134802/Ezik+v+tumane+%28Hedgehog+in+the+fog%29.html

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Lexi on Tue 06 Jun 2006 06:32 #

  12. Saw this in a quite badly coded version, but the magic survives that. A classic, wonderful piece of animation.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from GZoST on Tue 11 Jul 2006 05:57 #

  13. y

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from adomas on Tue 03 Jul 2007 21:35 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.77 (13 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 11 Best Actress Oscars and win 7 more Best Actress Oscars, how many Best Actress Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.