nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Rejected (2000)

  Directed by: Don Hertzfeldt
Written by: Don Hertzfeldt
Links: Rejected on the IMDb, Official site, Buy on DVD, Buy Merchandise
Genre: Cartoon/Animation

This movie gets: 7.67 (3 ratings)
nofreelist.com Ranking: Ranked equal 77th of 187 movies (2 ratings minimum; see full chart)

Rejected (2000) is also mentioned in em_fiction's review of Ah, L'Amour (1995) and em_fiction's review of Billy's Balloon (1998).

"Cheap laughs" - a review by pearly

Rejected is a series of short animations made by Don Hertzfeldt as commissions for advertising for a few different companies. The pieces all have something in common: they were each rejected by the companies that had requested them in the first place.

Hertzfeldt's animations are pencil drawings, mainly black and white, but with occasional bursts of colour. Hardly visual masterpieces, this is not really the point of the whole thing. The point is to be crude and ridiculous. These would all be perfectly at home in amongst Spike and Mike's Hilarious Sick and Twisted Festival of Animation, and in fact, I believe Hertzfeldt's work does appear within this collection of short animations (or one of its successors anyway).

With Rejected, Hertzfeldt has found a use for these rejected animations, and has extended on their story with the last couple of minutes' worth of new animation, to make it all into a cohesive unit. It's rude, it's funny, it's Hertzfeldt all the way.

pearly gives this movie 7 out of 10.
Review created on Mon 23 Feb 2004

"Portrait of the artist as a total freak" - a review by mino

Don Hertzfeldt, creator of the truly hilarious, much-loved, and oft-circulated sub-2-minute short Ah, L'Amour (1995), is the animator, director, and main voice-over dude of this much longer masterpiece. If you know that, and you've seen Ah, L'Amour, and I tell you that Rejected is just as funny, just as brutal, just as clever, and just as wonderfully animated, then you're probably out of your seat now, and running to find a copy.

You won't be disappointed.

Rejected is supposedly a series of advertisements Hertzfeldt made for various companies, which kept getting knocked back — for increasingly obvious reasons. As Hertzfeldt keeps getting turned down, his animation gets worse and worse (in more ways than one), as well as funnier and funnier. It all culminates in a hilarious, brilliantly animated, totally surreal collapse of both the animator and his creations.

I guarantee you one thing: after seeing Rejected, the words ‘my anus is bleeding’ will never sound quite so innocent again.

mino gives this movie 8 out of 10.
Review created on Fri 6 Feb 2004

"Now I think my spoons are too small..." - a review by em_fiction

Very, very similar to David Lynch's Dumbland (available on his official site), Rejected is a series of short, absurd, crude, pointless, violent, stick-figure-like cartoons by Don Hertzfeldt. Don was once asked by several corporations, including a family network, to produce some cartoons as promotional tools. For some very blatant reasons, they were all rejected, and after you watch this compilation of pleasantly 'rejected' animations, it won't exactly be, uh... difficult to work out why they were never aired.

However, while watching this, you will encounter something that will be extremely difficult to overcome: the urge to not laugh yourself ridiculously silly. As a matter of fact, you're going to laugh so hard that you will need an oxygen tank to re-circulate your breathing pattern. Sure, you may not see the point, you may not identify a purpose, you may not even understand why this 9 minute cartoon was ever created in the first place, but if you're not laughing yourself to the point of near suffocation, then there must be something wrong with you.

em_fiction gives this movie 8 out of 10.
Review created on Wed 4 Feb 2004

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 3
Average rating: 7.67
Lowest rating: 7 (by pearly)
Highest rating: 8 (by mino, em_fiction)
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 33%
8 
 67%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. where the fuck can i find this movie on the iternet fRREEEEEE FREe

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from notaboy on Thu 19 Feb 2004 05:26 #

  2. dance. everybody dance!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from jeepers on Sun 22 Feb 2004 04:04 #

  3. Get it on DVD and support the artists!

    http://www.bitterfilms.com/rejecteddvd.html

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from jolly on Fri 26 Mar 2004 20:05 #

  4. I want to know where I can find this thing on the internet for free, because I don't have 14 fucking dollars!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from aardvark_chic (http://hometown.aol.com/flufulbunny06/myhomepage/profile.html) on Thu 01 Apr 2004 01:22 #

  5. where can i find it for free on the internet?!?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ashley on Thu 01 Apr 2004 13:15 #

  6. MAD

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Buster on Tue 13 Apr 2004 14:37 #

  7. There is no family learning channel, the whole thing is fiction you dolts :) This is truly an hilarious short film though.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Hoboe (http://www.hoboe.net/) on Fri 16 Apr 2004 21:18 #

  8. u do know it didnt only take 5 weeks right? It took at least 5 months just for the sounds. Over a year to finish. The whole thing is a big joke. A very good one too

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ashley on Fri 30 Apr 2004 23:54 #

  9. Is there a place where I can see this for free without having to buy the DVD. I have seen it before from my friend and I fell in love with it. It's so funny.

    A comment from Sarah on Thu 29 Jul 2004 12:59 #

  10. i saw it for free to on a website, it seems like its been taken off everywhere.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from portelli on Thu 26 Aug 2004 09:42 #

  11. I am a banana!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Anna on Wed 15 Sep 2004 09:58 #

  12. please tell me where i can see it for free ive done it before but i cant find it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from casey on Fri 08 Oct 2004 10:05 #

  13. i know where you can watch it for freeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!

    A comment from devilprayer on Fri 08 Oct 2004 10:55 #

  14. yeah I guess you can get it for free, as I see so many people asked. I downloaded it from kazaa. sooo try that!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sarah on Sat 30 Oct 2004 10:11 #

  15. this movie as the best thing since fried, slices bread

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from erik on Wed 24 Nov 2004 09:14 #

  16. I just dont even know.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sarah on Sun 30 Jan 2005 17:26 #

  17. Tuesday is coming. Did you bring your coat?

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from sallysuncakes on Fri 18 Feb 2005 06:51 #

  18. Where can I watch "rejected" for free!? I HAVE TO SEE IT!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from inquiringmind on Sat 07 May 2005 15:03 #

  19. okay, so if u guys wanna see the thing for free, go to http://www.google.com and search "rejected.wmv" you'll be able to find it. i downloaded my own copy to watch whenever i want! =]

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from frizzygallygalgalgallllll on Tue 10 May 2005 15:26 #

  20. I LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTEDI LOVE REJECTED

    I......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANAI......AM A BANANA

    MY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIG MY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIG MY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIG MY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIGMY SPOON IS TOO BIG


    Rating given: 10

    A comment from the BANANA on Wed 11 May 2005 23:08 #

  21. This movie is, lets say, pure Genius with lots of humus.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from FoxA (http://www.SuzuFA.de) on Thu 12 May 2005 00:02 #

  22. where can i watch ?

    A comment from bob on Tue 17 May 2005 21:41 #

  23. http://www.thebluething.com
    You can worship me after you watch it.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ninja Jesus on Thu 26 May 2005 10:51 #

  24. where the deuce can you find this godforsaken masterpiece fer free on tha internet? mostly because it's fucking awesome!!!!!!!!:)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from cameron on Tue 31 May 2005 07:10 #

  25. "For the love of God and all that is holy! MY ANUS IS BLEEDING!!" "YAYYYY!"

    Out of all the videos I've seen on the internet (and this is a startling amount), this has to be one of the greatest, yet most random ones in existance. Every time I watch it, I end up laughing for a good time afterwards and sometimes even quote from it. It gets a 10/10.

    And for you cheap bastards who don't want to support Hertzfeldt by buying the DVD, you can easily find this video via p2p. Or do a GoogleVideo search for it.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Shaun (http://www.myspace.com/shaunknighton) on Wed 30 Nov 2005 18:50 #

  26. hey, if you wanna see it free, go to http://www.blogtelevision.net/p/Videos-Watch-a-Video___1,2,,12449.html
    You can also put it on ur myspace and that stuff if you scroll farther down!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Chris on Sat 10 Dec 2005 18:02 #

  27. You are all jerks, if you are unable to pirate one of the most popular shorts put on the internet, you don't deserve to have this on your computer. If you're going to look for "legitimate sites" instead of P2P to find this, hoping it is less wrong, I assure you it is not. Taking this animation without paying is illegal, and you shouldn't be a little d!ck asking for it on a forum because you're just too lazy to find it for yourself. I hate people so much.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from CreatureX the Misanthropist on Wed 01 Feb 2006 14:00 #

  28. Tuesday's coming...Did you bring your coat?

    I live in a giant bucket...

    (a growth comes out of the guys head absurdly)

    F***

    (Then flying pig with tentacles goes by)

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Andrew on Thu 27 Apr 2006 04:12 #

  29. I also like the one when blood starts shooting out of the guy's eye when its sort pretending like some sort of action fight scene

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Andrew on Thu 27 Apr 2006 04:15 #

  30. the one where he writes the cartoon with his left hand was clever

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Andrew on Thu 27 Apr 2006 04:15 #

  31. the most amazing film in the world, i laughed so hard i couldn't breath. i need to meet don hertzfeld

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Elis on Sat 24 Jun 2006 06:48 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.82 (28 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 10 Best Director Oscars and win 4 more Best Director Oscars, how many Best Director Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.