nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Cane-Toad: What Happened to Baz? (2002)

  Directed by: David Clayton, Andrew Silke
Written by: David Clayton, James Cowan, Andrew Silke
Links: Cane-Toad: What Happened to Baz? on the IMDb, Official site, Watch online
Genre: Cartoon/Animation
Awards: AFI Awards: Best Short Animation 2003 (nominee)

This movie gets: 4.33 (3 ratings)
nofreelist.com Ranking: Ranked equal 170th of 187 movies (2 ratings minimum; see full chart)

"What Mino said!" - a review by andy-j

Cane Toad: What Happened to Baz is an award-winning 3-D CGI short film. It is about the cane toad Daz wondering what happened to his mate Baz. Perhaps he was killed by a truck! Or a lawnmower! Or a golf club! And that's about it really.

Daz is the personification of a generic outback Aussie character, but he overuses the Ocker-talk to the point where it is embarrassing, annoying and try-hard. The same could be said about some of his lines (the "I'm annoyed he's gone, not because I miss him but because he owes me a six-pack" gag is amateurish and tired).

It looks absolutely beautiful, with a great artistic style, and some good sight gags, but it could have been funnier. For a short film, it's really not that bad though.

andy-j gives this movie 5 out of 10.
Review created on Thu 22 Jan 2004

"OK, as far as it goes" - a review by mino

There are a few laughs to be had in the 3-D CGI short film Cane Toad: What Happened to Baz?: just not that many.

Basically, it's a one-joke short (well… maybe two) about a cane toad named Daz worried about the whereabouts of his friend Baz, and wondering what could have happened to him. There's no plot as such; the quest for Baz is just an excuse to throw together a few different scenes of ways cane toads might get offed.

The creators, I think, thought ‘ooh, cane toads getting killed would look good in CGI cartoon form!’ — and they're right, it is beautifully animated and very eye-catching — but that, in itself, doesn't really make for a wonderful short film. The overly-Ocker sayings Daz uses (like ‘pickle me grandmother’) aren't funny, either: they sound a little too ‘Stan from Wolgert’ for my taste, and are frankly rather gratuitous.

Mildly amusing, maybe, but not wonderful.

mino gives this movie 4 out of 10.
Review created on Thu 22 Jan 2004

"Ho hum" - a review by pearly

Cane Toad: What Happened to Baz? is a 3D animation in which Dazza the cane toad tells the story of his friend Baz, who has gone missing. Where could Baz be? Is he just lost, or could he have been run over by a car, leaving his innards on the road, or hit a great distance by a golf club?

Daz and Baz are obviously ocker Aussies, and the comedic value of this short film is based around that, with Daz saying things like "where could the bloody bugger have gotten to?", and doing farts whilst sitting in a dog bowl full of water.

I got a couple of laughs out of these cane toads antics, but overall, I thought it was pretty forgettable.

pearly gives this movie 4 out of 10.
Review created on Fri 3 Oct 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 3
Average rating: 4.33
Lowest rating: 4 (by mino, pearly)
Highest rating: 5 (by andy-j)
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 67%
5 
 33%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. Funniest thing I've seen since my Mum got her head stuck in the clothes dryer.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Kim Carter on Mon 21 Feb 2005 16:54 #

  2. god you guys suck

    A comment from Guy on Wed 11 Jan 2006 07:06 #

  3. Man I read these and fumed. These guys and gals need to get their pseudo-intelligentsia, soy-milk-with-my-macchiato sipping, wanna-be movie critic, pasty white "didnt make it into art-college' pimply Melbournite arses, out of the reviewing business and try doing something worthwhile themselves - like suicide. I'd give them 10/10 stars for that little effort. Especially if it was filmed and posted on a funny mpeg website.
    What a bunch of fucking tossers. The website is called 'nofreelist'.com, and in its own words is 'a bunch of people you've never heard of review new and classic movies'. Hmm. Never even heard of. Well thats something I don't have any trouble getting my semi -literate cricket-watching know-nothing blue collar working class philistine-inspired taste around. And I bet 10 years from now in the future, we'll still have "not heard" of them. Because they'll be doing something they're good at by then - like issuing parking tickets in Proserpine. Unsung heroes. The backbone of Australia. Quick Guys - Prossie needs you - we sure as shit don't ! (sorry - was that cliched, tired, amateurish, embarrassing, annoying or try-hard, or was it not funny, rather gratuitous (rather!), forgettable, mildly amusing but ultimately forgettable?)

    They even review themselves on this site. Here a few quotes from each of them.....

    Andy J - "I know nothing about cinematography, don't think about underlying themes, and wouldn't know character development if it punched me in the mouth. I also know little to nothing about the art of acting".

    "I'm not trying to set the world on fire with my reviews. They're basically fairly shallow, surface-scratching affairs. I have neither the filmography knowledge, nor the life experience to go beyond that level "

    (don't let that hold you back though champion!)

    "I just wrote a review for Chopper (2000) then checked out some of the "real" reviews on the web and concluded I have all of the insight and literary skills of a five year old in comparison."

    With a resume like that, its no wonder he decided to start a Movie review website! You know, I think I'm starting to like this guy! He's honest! Proserpine beckons!

    Lets hear from Mino next.

    Mino says "

    The world needs more movie reviewers. This is a fact that should be patently obvious to even the sort of ignorant dolt who thought that A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001) was a good movie. More importantly, the world needs more movie reviewers who are cranky bastards who mercilessly mock movie-makers for their own stupidity.

    I think we all agree that there have long been some gaps to be filled in the world of Internet movie reviews. The Internet does not contain nearly enough invective, abuse, or bad-temperedness directed towards Hollywood. There is a gap for someone who will tell it like it is, who will not hold back on scorn for the dim-witted, the dull, the dreary and the just plain dismal. There is a gap for someone who randomly scatters curse-words through their reviews for no reason other than to shock. And there is always a gap for someone who thinks that Susan Sarandon is pretty close to the worst actor alive.

    These gaps are now filled."

    Hmm. Go Mino. The Internet does not contain nearly enough invective, abuse, or bad-temperedness directed towards Hollywood. Invective, abuse or bad-temperedness.Wow - you could make a career out of being an arsehole while other people are out there doing what they love while you sit back and mock them for it! Forget insight. Forget recognition. Forget appreciation. Forget that your sense of humour has probably been filed away along with your dreams of ever being recognised for your own talents and abilities. Forget the fact that the people who actually make the movies that you owe your parasitical little pasttime to actually wipe more talent from their arseholes each day than you'll ever have yourself. "Tell it l

    A comment from Guy again on Wed 11 Jan 2006 12:52 #

  4. "Tell it like it is", Mino? How am I doing? Think I could be a critic too? I'm angry, bitter and lash out at people trying to mask my own shortcomings too ! Where do I apply? Maybe I could write reviews with you guys !

    Ok. last is Pearly. What sort of person is telling us about the dangerous world of sub-standard movie making out there?
    pearly's Bio
    I'd had it in my head for a long time that it would be fun to have a movie reviews site - even if the web is already overcrowded with them. So, after spending countless days coming up with a good domain name, mino and I finally got off our lazy bottoms and did something about it. And here it is.

    I love movies. I'm not going to write review after review about the number of ways in which films could be better, and why you should definitely not go and see this or that; that's mino's job. I guess I'm just easily pleased, because I'd rather see a halfway decent film than no film at all.

    Go Pearl. Is that from "pearls at swine"? well we have an insight into how you regard the Australian viewing public now. Why did you think "it would be fun to have a movie reviews site? So you could air the knowledge and talent you don't have? Do yourself a favour and become a politician. The pays better and you'll be forced to spend your time with people just like yourself. Or even better you three could start your own Party, and try to pass laws outlawing entertainment, creativity, humour and talent - that way you won't feel so left out! You know the website is overcrowded with movie review sites - close yours down and there'll be one less! Problem solved! And if you're not going to "write review after review about the number of ways in which films could be better, and why you should definitely not go and see this or that; that's mino's job." You should think about it! You couldn't do a worse job than either Andy j or Mino. Shoot for the stars girlfriend! (hey! your soy milk latte has spilt onto your college application rejection letter - quick!)

    Read on for their insightful and well grounded reviews.

    A comment from Guy again on Wed 11 Jan 2006 12:54 #

  5. Seriously entertaining. If only there was more of this stuff out there. If it wasnt fantastic enough, the maya tutorials are like bonus tracks!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from leon stilgoe on Mon 23 Jan 2006 21:10 #

  6. I have just seen this movie and I have to say it is the funniest and best produced short movie that I remember seeing and it's a topical subject as well. I wish there were more like it. Thanks and congratulations to those involved in its production.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rob Monaghan on Thu 26 Jan 2006 05:54 #

  7. I agree with Guy, though I doubt that I could ever air my displeasure with such elloquence. Honestly people, what is it you are trying to do? Movies, whether they are fantasy, documentary or merely short quips are made for one reason, entertainment. Not every film has to have a deeper meaning or subject the viewers of a particular political agenda, racial perspective or propaganda trail. For christ's sake, it's a short flick about the plight of a cane toad (which you might consider to be rather fleeting at any rate). Shit, cane toads are about as useful as mustard gas in an elevator but if someone has the creativity to do something with them that serves a better purpose than devastating our natural wildlife then BRING IT ON MATE!
    People have lost the ability to laugh at themselves and take a joke, many thanks to the wanker that came up with the notion of 'political correctness'. Australians have always been known as a culture that can laugh at itself and take a joke and takes particular pleasure in taking the piss out of those who think to much of themselves. Pull your bloody collective heads in and doing something productive rather than venting your obvious frustrations at someone who decided to actually do something!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from brett (http://www.neo-orsus.com) on Mon 20 Mar 2006 21:45 #

  8. ran into this site while i was looking for more work from these bloody brilliant animators. Yes thats right "bloody brilliant" i have shown this short film to at least 20 people and all have laughed, some cringed at the blood and guts, but everybody laughed. What a talent to give people a little bit of hilarity in their lives. I dont think that the ocerisms were overdone, I think that it was beautifully done and thank the creators everytime i show it to someone else for sharing their talent with us and making us smile. Good on you boys!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from steph on Fri 06 Mar 2009 16:44 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 10.00 (5 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 10 Best Original Screenplay Oscars and win 5 more Best Original Screenplay Oscars, how many Best Original Screenplay Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.