nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Harvie Krumpet (2003)

  Directed by: Adam Benjamin Elliot
Written by: Adam Benjamin Elliot
Starring: Julie Forsyth, Kamahl, Geoffrey Rush
Links: Harvie Krumpet on the IMDb, Official site, Buy merchandise
Genre: Cartoon/Animation
Awards: AFI Awards: Best Short Animation 2003 (winner)

This movie gets: 9.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

Harvie Krumpet (2003) is also mentioned in pearly's review of Birthday Boy and pearly's review of Clara (2005).

"Fakt 448: Harvie Krumpet is fantastic" - a review by pearly

Harvie Krumpet is a wonderfully funny short film. It combines some cute claymation with an hilarious script, and then, slam-dunks with a superb voiceover by Geoffrey Rush.

Harvie is a Russian man who migrates to Australia. He has terrible bad luck, but always manages to make the best of the situations life throws at him. His mother home-schooled him, and he carries a notepad everywhere which he fills with fakts (sic). In 23 minutes, we go from his birth through to the end of his life.

Geoffrey Rush's narration is a real stand-out, and I can't imagine this film without it. He is extremely eloquent, but manages perfect comic timing, and I think comedy is only enhanced by a seriously read delivery such as this (as opposed to the kind of delivery someone like Robin Williams would have given).

But it is Adam Benjamin Elliot's claymation and writing skills which make Harvie Krumpet so wonderful. I'm looking forward to his next movie with much anticipation.

pearly gives this movie 9 out of 10.
Review created on Fri 3 Oct 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 100%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. The first time in a long time I laughed out loud in crowded movie theatre.

    It was shown here in Cork, Ireland at the Cork International Film fstival and should have won the Best International Shorts section but Didn't....... Robbery. I defy anyone to view this without laughing out loud and quoting fakts (sic.) out loud for months afterwards. Some of the best one-liners outside of a Marx brothers movie I've ever heard or seen. Don't just see it. I went online first thing this morning to see if I could BUY it. cant fault it in any way. 10/10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Chris Dorgan on Mon 20 Oct 2003 21:11 #

  2. brilliant! :D

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Dora on Sat 22 Nov 2003 03:48 #

  3. "Harvie Krumpet" is the most outstanding animated short movie I've ever seen. The main mood of the movie seems to be quite sad. But then there are some scenes where you would like to laugh out loud, but you're not sure if you can do so...The narration is brilliant.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Kai on Sun 28 Dec 2003 03:08 #

  4. I have seen Harvie Krumpet by chance when zapping through the TV programme, and I got completely stuck to it.
    It has such a sad mood, but always it somehows turns round and you find yourself smiling while watching it. A really heart-moving story and way of telling!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sydne on Wed 28 Jan 2004 07:42 #

  5. hi all,

    i've just put an interview with adam elliot online at: http://www.sleepybrain.net/adam.html

    adam talks about the genesis of harvie krumpet and his earlier claymations

    i hope you enjoy it.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from simon on Sun 15 Feb 2004 22:37 #

  6. sheer brilliance.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from paperboy on Sun 07 Mar 2004 23:18 #

  7. Harvey was born in Poland not Russia

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from mark on Mon 08 Mar 2004 21:34 #

  8. I love this short film, it was absolutly fantastic.
    Geoffery Rush did a fantastic job with the narrating, that added a little bit extra.

    I am glad that the Oscars chose to reward this film that went back to the base of Animation, but also told a story from the heart.

    It was Easily the best out of the films nominated.

    Well done Adam Elliot!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Michael Mazengarb on Tue 09 Mar 2004 18:15 #

  9. it think harvie krumpet is a genius piece of animation,, the story is briljant,, i love it,, its one of the best animated short movies ever, if you would ask ME,..
    greetings roy (holland)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from roy van wezenbeek on Tue 20 Apr 2004 03:03 #

  10. Excellent, I saw the film to use as 'related material' for my HSC study on 'Journey.' .. The film was sooooo funny .. Hahaha. I'm still laughing about it now . HAHAHAH

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Bobby on Mon 26 Apr 2004 01:58 #

  11. u need to have the fakts from the fakts book harvie carries around, that is wat me and a mate are searching for.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from alannah on Thu 24 Mar 2005 09:59 #

  12. I really loved it! It's now one of my most favorites!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Chantal on Fri 01 Apr 2005 09:22 #

  13. I studied it for English at school, I thought it was great!! Really funny!!

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from Clair on Wed 13 Jul 2005 18:14 #

  14. yeah, im using it as an external text in my english HSC paper tommorow morning! Wish me luck!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from josh on Sun 16 Oct 2005 19:58 #

  15. It is very nice but serious and strange, no ?
    It's very good job !!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sonia on Wed 29 Mar 2006 23:24 #

  16. Life is like a ciggerette, smoke it to the butt!!!!!
    very insperational animation

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Jaz on Tue 04 Apr 2006 13:55 #

  17. my favourite forever =D
    i loved it...i cried with laughter in some parts and was close to just crying in other parts. Classic

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from mersh on Sun 09 Apr 2006 12:33 #

  18. I'm studying this and writing a review for English. Nothing but positive vibes will be coming off my sheet of paper :P Well done.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Brent on Sun 07 May 2006 18:52 #

  19. Instantly Brilliant.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Robbie on Tue 09 May 2006 01:43 #

  20. I think harvie krumpet was boring. I didnt get the movie at all.

    A comment from Crystal on Wed 10 Oct 2007 13:45 #

  21. Harvey Krumpet, was boring and confusing.

    Rating given: 1

    A comment from Chantelle on Wed 10 Oct 2007 13:48 #

  22. bahhahahah

    no.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from nicole on Wed 10 Oct 2007 13:50 #

  23. hi

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from bobwangkar on Tue 30 Oct 2007 21:22 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.23 (22 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 11 Best Original Screenplay Oscars and win 4 more Best Original Screenplay Oscars, how many Best Original Screenplay Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.