nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Anne Frank: The Whole Story (2001)

  Directed by: Robert Dornhelm
Starring: Ben Kingsley, Hannah Taylor-Gordon
Links: Anne Frank: The Whole Story on the IMDb, Buy on Video, Buy on DVD, Buy the Book
Genre: Based on True Story

This movie gets: 6.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

"Frankly realistic" - a review by pearly

To say that everyone knows the story of Anne Frank is an exaggeration, but not that big of one. I have never read the entire diary, just flipped through bits of it. Before watching this movie, I didn't really remember the specifics about the Frank family - did any of them make it through, how many people were in the attic, etc.

One of the traps it would be easy to fall into when telling a life story like Anne Frank's is to portray the main characters as heroes, and therefore make them appear 2-dimensional. This is one of the things that Anne Frank: The Whole Story does well - it shows the character's flaws as well as their strengths. By doing this, you can imagine them as real people; you can see that, sometimes, Anne was a real pain to live with, but that she was also very kind, and, essentially, she was just a girl growing up.

Having decided to watch the movie just as it was starting on the TV, and knowing nothing much about it, I must admit that, with advertisements, it was way too long, and I found my attention waning towards the end. But overall, what makes this movie stand out from what could have been a mediocre adaption of Anne's life story is both the realness of the script (as mentioned before) as well as the standout performances by the actors; in particular Ben Kingsley as Anne's father, and Hannah Taylor-Gordon as Anne herself.

pearly gives this movie 6 out of 10.
Review created on Thu 11 Sep 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 100%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. I love this movie...Hannah Taylor Gordon does one amazing job portraying Anne...as does Ben Kingsley portraying Otto Frank.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Sarah on Mon 19 Jan 2004 07:36 #

  2. I saw this film when it aired on ABC back in 2001, and I thought it was a great movie. I recently rewatched it and found it even more moving than I did the first time. This is a great film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Celia (http://www33.brinkster.com/audsley) on Wed 03 Mar 2004 04:40 #

  3. This movie touched me when I first saw it on tv. I didnt realize what I was getting myself into as I watched, but I found myself hooked. This is a great movie that portrays the diary almost perfectly.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Amanda on Mon 13 Dec 2004 13:53 #

  4. I have seen the movie and it really helps me with visual information, because I am trying to write a story about historical facts; such as Anne Frank

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Phylicia on Sun 06 Feb 2005 12:22 #

  5. When I read the book I cried. And I cried even more when I saw the movie. I just can't believe it. WHY? I watched the film yesterday...I cry almost all the time, except when I'm in school. Just can't see how people could do a such thing lika that. :'(

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Cynthia on Tue 22 Feb 2005 03:53 #

  6. i am only 14 years old but i have read the diary 2 complete times and have went through it many other times. The movie made me cry. I first watched it in the 8th grade last year and found it to be very emotional. By making an accurate film i think it has interested many people of all ages because i know it interested me.

    A comment from Hannah on Wed 09 Mar 2005 10:59 #

  7. this is a great movie i watched it in school this year it was the saddest movie i have ever seen

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Michael on Mon 28 Mar 2005 00:45 #

  8. This movie is IT!
    Hannah is the perfect Anne, and histricly it is so correct.
    my topfavourite!!!
    Kenny

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Kenny on Sun 08 May 2005 01:27 #

  9. This movie had a huge impact on me, an average Southern Californian 13 yr old. I enjoyed every minute of it, happy and heartbreaking. This film broke my heart, thinking that this is what millions of Jewish people went through. Hannah does an outstanding job and why she was chosen for this part is definately shown throughout this movie. When I began to watch this film, the good parts made me happy but I knew I was setting myself up for a waterworks parade. It's absolutely horrible how something so inhumane can happen to great people. This film helped change my perspective in the most positive way.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Angela on Mon 30 May 2005 12:15 #

  10. IT is great film that I have seen it about 10 times in the past week. THe person that plays peter is very good.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ella Georgiou on Tue 09 Aug 2005 03:38 #

  11. HAnnah was very good and the person who played peter was good too.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ella on Tue 09 Aug 2005 03:40 #

  12. great...sweet movie...but i guess they should have everything from the diary and not disregard some parts.ok.
    but it was nicely made..

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from karl08 on Sun 06 Nov 2005 23:46 #

  13. good.just good.

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from karlmira8najo on Sun 06 Nov 2005 23:48 #

  14. this movie is just great it really portraits the diary perfectly. it goes beyond the diary. Hannah Taylor Gordon, really did an amazing job on representing Anne. I especially loved this movie becase it goes beyond the diary. Showing scenes when they were in a concentration camp. Not like most ohter movies that they end when the diary is found. i just love it.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Deniss Morales on Mon 21 Nov 2005 10:03 #

  15. i loved it is my favourite film of al time.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from helen on Mon 27 Mar 2006 03:56 #

  16. i love hannah taylor gordon in this film she takes on the role of anne so well .this film is my favurite film of all time its a must see

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from helen rossiter on Mon 27 Mar 2006 04:02 #

  17. hye .
    i'm a girl, from belgium.
    i saw a lot of movies of anne frank, en i read her diary .

    this film is just, fantastic . i just couldent stop crying and crying .
    i'm a verry emotional type, but i was getting worse, when i saw the little kids on that train to auswitch.
    i stil cant understand, why so many people had to die !!
    innosent people !
    where was the world, going to ?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from kimberley buysens on Mon 26 Jun 2006 01:55 #

  18. idk whatevs, i need a biog

    A comment from caroline on Wed 09 Jan 2008 02:42 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.38 (16 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 10 Best Supporting Actor Oscars and win 2 more Best Supporting Actor Oscars, how many Best Supporting Actor Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.