nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Knick Knack (1989)

  Directed by: John Lasseter
Written by: John Lasseter
Links: Knick Knack on the IMDb, Official site, Buy on Video
Genre: Short

This movie gets: 7.33 (3 ratings)
nofreelist.com Ranking: Ranked equal 95th of 187 movies (2 ratings minimum; see full chart)

Knick Knack (1989) is also mentioned in em_fiction's review of Boundin' (2003) and em_fiction's review of The Incredibles (2004).

"Great little appetiser before we find Nemo" - a review by em_fiction

Before Finding Nemo (2003), we are given this wonderful little treat from Pixar (shorts before feature films has kinda become their 'thing'). On a shelf sits a whole heap of exotic souvenirs, but isolated at the other end is a grumpy little snowman who faces the dilemma of being stuck in a snow dome. He tries to escape and ends up going through a series of Wile E. Coyote style cause-and-effects. A colourful, cute, funny little animation to start off another wonderful film.

em_fiction gives this movie 8 out of 10.
Review created on Wed 14 Jan 2004

"Knick Knack: that is whack (give Pixar a bone)" - a review by mino

Disney/Pixar's habit of putting short films before their animated features is a welcome one. Seeing a short film before a feature — especially if they're a well-matched pair — is the sort of treat that you just don't get often enough these days.

Knick Knack, which aired before Finding Nemo (2003), is certainly pleasant enough. The tale of a poor little snowman trapped inside a souvenir snow-globe, it's really a one-joke short, but that's about all you can ask for. It's a funny joke, well done, and animated with real personality. It's very amusing to watch, and the fact that you so quickly come to sympathise with an animated plastic snowman shows how, even 14 years ago, the Pixar blokes could nail character-driven animation perfectly. They knew exactly what to do to draw the audience in, and executed it perfectly.

Clearly, they haven't looked back since.

mino gives this movie 7 out of 10.
Review created on Fri 26 Sep 2003

"Whets the appetite" - a review by pearly

Knick Knack is showing at the cinema as a delightful surprise before Finding Nemo (2003). At least, it was when I went to see it. For fans of Pixar, it's great to see this early film, and to get a bit of insight into how their animation has evolved. For an animated film that was made in 1989, it looks fabulous. You can see that these guys had talent from the very start, and not just in terms of animation, but also for coming up with cute little sequences that work - that make the audience laugh, and that translate well across many ages.

Knick Knack is about a snowman in a snow dome, who spies a tropical mermaid across the shelf, and tries to escape the dome so that he can get closer to her. His attempts are all ingenious, but he's riddled with bad luck, and just can't reach the flirtatious mermaid.

As far as warm-up acts go, you couldn't ask for much more than this, and it certainly makes your $14 ticket stretch that little bit further.

pearly gives this movie 7 out of 10.
Review created on Tue 9 Sep 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 3
Average rating: 7.33
Lowest rating: 7 (by mino, pearly)
Highest rating: 8 (by em_fiction)
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 67%
8 
 33%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. When I initially came out of the cinema after watching Pixars excellent Finding Nemo, I was full of praise for this little short screened beforehand. One of the main things that impressed me was the quality of animation that was way beyond its years... or so I thought. However, a little digging around the internet presented me with a download of the short, and when I watched it I noticed something strange. Both the girls in it had huge boobs. I remember very well that the one I saw in the cinema had no boobs at all. While this is sort of understandable censorship for a Disney Cartoon aimed at the very young, it also rasies the question of when was this short ACTUALLY rendered. Was it in 1989 as we were told, or was it last year after re-modelling the girls?
    As good as this short is, it looses some of the magic knowing the version I saw was rendered recently using todays super-fast computers.

    So it's 8/10 for the original and 6/10 for the re-make leaving an average of 7

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from Matt Gray on Tue 14 Oct 2003 05:59 #

  2. Knick Knack was absolutely brilliant, and considering the time it was made (1989), showed that Pixar have always been amazing right from the start.

    Tiz funny and witty, and both young and old alike would enjoy it immensely :)

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Avril on Thu 06 Nov 2003 00:24 #

  3. I noticed the boobs where gone because it was one of the things I thought was very funny about the original, and although I do rotoscoping (Retouching images) I'm sure they render the whole thing again, the quallity is great, but I'll have to research a bit more. In spite of the sensure for me is one of the funniest shorts ever made, and a great example of timing and smart surprise story telling. for it's time and work and simplisity, is a 10 for me.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Alex Uribe on Wed 12 Nov 2003 02:09 #

  4. Knick knack rulez!!!~ Me and my friends loved it!!! It's sooo funny!! 10+ for me!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Inge on Mon 15 Dec 2003 07:46 #

  5. When I went to "Finding Nemo", seeing Knick Knack was a pleasant surprise. It's a sad story, but that makes it funny!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from The Ant Man on Fri 19 Dec 2003 18:52 #

  6. I love this movie and the sound the little snowman makes when he is determinded to get out, but in the end doesn't.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Nicole on Thu 01 Jan 2004 18:26 #

  7. knick knack is the best thing ever in the whole world and pisney pixar should get an oscar lots of love lucy (sad 14 year old) xxx

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from lucy on Sun 04 Jan 2004 07:15 #

  8. Knick Knack has been in my tape collection since I was about one year old, along with other Pixar classics such as 'Tin Toy' and 'Red's Dream'. This is a classic story, with advanced technology for when it was made, and of course, the music which will be remembered by all who watch it. Great, funny plot, music you can hum to; this just makes one of the best shorts ever!
    I think it's funny when he tries to use the blowtorch to escape :p (click click...KABLOOM!)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Morag on Fri 12 Aug 2005 08:50 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.25 (8 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 11 Best Director Oscars and win 2 more Best Director Oscars, how many Best Director Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.