nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Horseplay (2003)

  Directed by: Stavros Kazantzidis
Written by: Stavros Kazantzidis
Starring: Tushka Bergen, Jason Donovan, Marcus Graham, Bill Hunter, Natalie Jackson Mendoza, Damien Richardson, Hugo Weaving
Links: Horseplay on the IMDb
Genre: Comedy
Awards: AFI Awards: Best Film 2003 (nominee)

This movie gets: 5.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

"It sure keeps you busy" - a review by pearly

This is the kind of movie that I would not pay money to go to the cinema and see. Firstly, it's billed as a comedy about horse racing, and that just sounds plain weird. Secondly, it contains the terrible duo of Marcus Graham and Jason Donovan, two actors which, a couple of years back, I thought had been relegated to nowhereland, after their respective forays into the Australian soapie world.

Given these low expectations, Horseplay was a pleasant surprise. What I didn't see coming was the crime element, not dissimilar in style to Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (1998), but with horses. And, let's face it, setting up a robbery on Melbourne Cup Day is a pretty cool idea for a movie.

There's nothing spectacular about any of the acting in Horseplay - probably the most memorable actor is Damien Richardson, who is setting himself up to be the Australian equivalent of Philip Seymour Hoffman if he continues to play the kinds of roles he's been playing thus far. Most of the other actors play over-the-top socialite types, or over-the-top crime types, or over-the-top somethingorotherelse types. I really didn't need to see Jason Donovan as an over-the-top sex-crazed type either, I might point out. The only one who wasn't particularly over-the-top was Hugo Weaving, who narrates the movie, but does not star. However, the presence of so much narration was over-the-top, as it relied on the narration far more openly than any other movie I remember seeing.

But, as I said earlier, it was only a pleasant surprise because of my low expectations going in. The surprise bumped it up a point or so. The over-the-toppedness bumped it right back down.

pearly gives this movie 5 out of 10.
Review created on Fri 26 Sep 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 100%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. A great movie! Dean Measor who plays jockey "JOE BYRNES" is very good, he puts in a great performance and certainly looks the part too.
    Allanah Zitserman and Stavros Kazantzidis are BRILLIANT!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from EVA on Tue 20 Jan 2004 02:25 #

  2. Hot chicks!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Dave on Sat 12 Jun 2004 01:49 #

  3. Dean Measor as wet behind the ears champion jockey is very good, I thought he actually was a real jockey, he was great along side Bill Hunter.
    He was not over the top.
    I also thought Jason Donovan was very funny and I loved Jacek Koman, a great Actor.
    I found the movie very clever and funny indeed.
    Dean Measor is a cutieXXXX

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Natalie on Fri 19 Aug 2005 20:31 #

  4. I enjoyed reading Nicole Perazzo's review. (very interesting and clever stuff)
    Let me just say it is very hard to get an Acting gig in any Australian Movie and I feel very fortunate to have played 'JOE' in Horseplay.
    I thought the film was a great little movie with limited time and of course budget. Stavros and Allanah the writers, director and producer of HORSEPLAY are very clever, talented and hardworking film makers. I do not feel the characters in the movie are played over the top. That is the way Stavros wanted his Actors to be in the film. It is a very hard process to make a feature film in Australia and let me just say that the makers of HORSEPLAY are the very hardest working people I have ever known.
    I loved Jacek Koman (a talented and highly respected Actor in Australia) and I also loved the legendary Bill Hunter. Thank you to everyone who has seen the film :)
    Dean Measor "JOE" in HORSEPLAY

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Dean Measor on Fri 19 Aug 2005 20:42 #

  5. Horseplay is a fantastic movie! and for the life of me I can't understand why it was not a huge success both at the cinema and on DVD? Horseplay needs to be played on free to air TV by one of the stations every Melbourne Cup Eve (year) it would get a huge cult following! Jacek Koman, Jason Donovan, (unknown)Dean Measor, and AFI award winnig Actress, Amanda Douge were just brilliant.
    Check the movie out on DVD yourself @ blockbusters and make up your own mind! An Aussie Classic.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from EMMA on Sat 08 Dec 2007 16:51 #

  6. I found this DVD hiding on the back shelf of my video store and I can't understand why. This film is funny as anything and the actors are hilarious. Kudos to the ditzy blonde brigade - actors Alyssa McClelland, Christina Collard and the super hot Elizabeth Sandy.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from MIKE on Wed 16 Apr 2008 20:38 #

  7. This is a great movie and is 100% underated.
    Loved jacek Koman and Dean Measor

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sarah on Tue 09 Sep 2008 22:04 #

  8. A very very funny and clever movie, it has to played every year on TV as the cup eve comes to Australia.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Eva on Tue 09 Sep 2008 22:07 #

  9. A very very funny and clever movie, it has to played every year on TV as the cup eve comes to Australia.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Eva on Tue 09 Sep 2008 22:07 #

  10. VERY GOOD FILM, LOTS OF ACTION!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from REECE on Tue 09 Sep 2008 22:08 #

  11. Deano you did a great job dear friend!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from dane angel on Tue 30 Sep 2008 16:46 #

  12. Thanks to everyone who went to see, hired or purchased Horse Play. Thank you to everybody who took the time to post a comment down on this site! :-)
    Much appreciated!!!
    Dean

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DEAN MEASOR on Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:12 #

  13. Emma who has posted on this site in 2007 a great point-idea really.
    A free to air yearly Melbourne Cup Eve screening of the movie would be a great idea and lots of fun. the movie would soon have everyone interested!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Eric Faulkner on Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:37 #

  14. VERRY FUN FILM!
    Why is it not well known???

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DAT on Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:41 #

  15. A fantastic and funny film, loved all the star studded cast! An aussie classic!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DAVID KENT on Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:43 #

  16. What a SENSATIONAL movie!
    I know one of the cast members, that person can't understand why the film did not do well?
    Bad promoting and marketing in my opinion!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Wendy Elliot on Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:49 #

  17. My favourite movie ever, why is it not a famous Australian Movie??
    It should be right up there with the best of them.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Leanne Thompson on Thu 27 Nov 2008 21:17 #

  18. terrible marketing and promotion and constant set backs in the release dates. originally released for November 2002 Melbourne Cup, what a difference that would have made!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Blair Lynch on Thu 27 Nov 2008 23:50 #

  19. Cute movie!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from ELIZA on Wed 03 Dec 2008 19:42 #

  20. Dean Measor is better known as an artist-designer and illustrator.
    He also is an accomplished musician.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Bruce T on Wed 03 Dec 2008 19:45 #

  21. I enjoyed this unkown movie 100% and I recommend it to everyone!
    Did it get released in the USA? or has plans to be released there?

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from S.TATE on Wed 03 Dec 2008 19:49 #

  22. Bunch of hack actors, especially all of above mentioned!

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from spazzattak on Wed 03 Dec 2008 19:52 #

  23. I have seen this movie for the very first time, it was the only copy at the back of the shelf of Australian Movies at my local video store. I'm glad I rented it out, the story and the actors in the film where really good, I wish the movie went a little longer, it seemed shorter than most films. A great movie!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Cathy on Wed 03 Dec 2008 19:58 #

  24. Don't agree with the above review of this movie in any way, the film was never marketed correctly, no promotion and I think the majority of people in Australia would not even know the film excists. I found it fast, action, comedy, and a great sound score by Nigel Westlake. The Actors were brilliant! I rate this a ten!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Kathryn on Thu 04 Dec 2008 18:08 #

  25. Brilliant movie! brilliant Actors! Brilliant sound track! 100-1 long shot gets the prize.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from callofthewest on Thu 04 Dec 2008 18:12 #

  26. just watched those girls "SKAKIN THAT ASS"

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from callofthewest on Sat 06 Dec 2008 22:24 #

  27. HEY! GREAT MOVIE!
    why in the f#### is this film not popular in at least Australia?

    drop the boy....

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from theboyisdropped on Sat 06 Dec 2008 22:28 #

  28. The jockey in the film is a real jockey or an Actor?
    Love it when Bill Hunter gives him a beating!!!!
    Great CHICKS!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Steve Green on Sat 06 Dec 2008 22:32 #

  29. Very funny, Abbie Cornish before she was famous!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from susan o on Mon 08 Dec 2008 16:03 #

  30. What a great movie!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from rapkatt on Wed 10 Dec 2008 16:21 #

  31. Dean Measor has been a loyal friend of mine and looked after my back for as long as I can remember.
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo for Dean

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from amanda cm on Sat 13 Dec 2008 05:28 #

  32. and he's HOT!!!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from ELIZA on Sat 13 Dec 2008 05:30 #

  33. good movie, can someone down load a scene or two from it?

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from PBS1 on Mon 15 Dec 2008 14:48 #

  34. Happy Christmas Dean Measor, you are a true friend and the most humble, genuine, and interesting people I have ever known. oxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Amanda M on Wed 24 Dec 2008 01:21 #

  35. Can I please have Dean Measor wrapped up in a red ribbon in my Christmas stocking this Christmas eve PPPPPPPLLLLLEEEEEEAAAAASSSSEEEEE! ox

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Eliza F on Wed 24 Dec 2008 01:23 #

  36. HAPPY CHRISTMAS SWEETNESS!
    NOW,,,,,, T H I S I S A
    M A N!!!!! hot!!!!!!!!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from lilly on Wed 24 Dec 2008 01:24 #

  37. Dean Measor is the most humble, kind and generous people you could ever meet.
    he is a talented actor, Musician, Writer, and illustrator. But most of all his has a kind and BEAUTIFUL MIND. i love him.
    www.imdb.com
    www.manpaper.com
    www.who'sdatedwho.com

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Felicity on Wed 24 Dec 2008 01:27 #

  38. Dean Measor is a beautiful person!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from ELIZA on Tue 27 Jan 2009 13:18 #

  39. I love Dean Measor

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from ELIZA on Thu 29 Jan 2009 12:01 #

  40. The movie sucked and so did the Actor Dean Measor.

    Rating given: 1

    A comment from mmrs on Thu 29 Jan 2009 12:02 #

  41. Horseplay is a BRILLIANT MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Emma s on Wed 29 Jul 2009 18:35 #

  42. great movie

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from jm on Fri 31 Jul 2009 17:13 #

  43. hot chicks!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from dave on Tue 25 Aug 2009 20:36 #

  44. GREAT MOVIE! SAW IT BY PURE ACCIDENT!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from davis on Fri 28 Aug 2009 20:25 #

  45. Dean Measor is a personal friend of mine and he is a hard worker who has been trying for years with his acting. He does many, many voices and accents and was great as the jockey in this feature film. Thanks for the little blog. The Bugster Brother

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from biggles on Mon 15 Feb 2010 08:24 #

  46. The movie Horseplay is really good and why is it not on television every cup eve in Australia. KOMAN,DONOVAN,MEASOR,CORNISH and BEAMER were good Actors in the film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from bernice e on Fri 12 Mar 2010 05:37 #

  47. The movie is awesome, please have a view for yourself.
    Elizabeth sandy and Dean Measor are very good newcommers to the screen.
    By CR Biggles.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from biggles CR on Fri 12 Mar 2010 05:40 #

  48. The whole cast is brilliant except for a few. Good fun film, underated 100%

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from davis and buggles on Fri 12 Mar 2010 05:42 #

  49. I liked HORSEPLY, unkown cast members such as Craig Beamer, Dean Measor and Elizabeth sandy were really good. You should give this film a look in.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Bernice and Charity on Sat 03 Apr 2010 02:26 #

  50. Dean Measor IS an Actor.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Charity on Sat 03 Apr 2010 02:28 #

  51. I LOVE THIS FILM!
    treated harshly in the press and media.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Zoe on Wed 21 Apr 2010 03:08 #

  52. do ya feel like a pizza!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from anom on Wed 21 Apr 2010 03:11 #

  53. A brilliant movie! I love this film, it absolutley ROCKS!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Emma on Thu 06 May 2010 11:15 #

  54. This movie is freaking awesome!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from linda c on Thu 17 Jun 2010 02:18 #

  55. I really thought this movie was terrific! I have read the comments above and I too can not understand why this movie has just f
    vanishd out of thin air? No-one and I mean no-one even knows about it yet it's cast is full of great talent. The film is about The Melbourne Cup for Christ's sake. Isn't that supposed to be an Australian Tradition????
    Abbie Cornish was great in the film and so was just about everyone, with perhaps the exception of Krista Vendy?
    A funny and entertaining movie!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Dave Kantz on Mon 14 Feb 2011 13:35 #

  56. I really loved this movie!
    It's a hidden gem and I bet it never sees the light of day again.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Melinda on Mon 03 Oct 2011 05:03 #

  57. HORSEPLAY is the best Australian Comedy/Drama since
    Muriel's Wedding.
    It's no-where to be purchased, never once been screened
    on television in nine
    years.

    HORSEPLAY is in NO PART on youtube.

    HORSEPLAY is not listed in wikipedia.

    Abbie Cornish,
    Dean Measor, Craig Beamer and the late and legendary Bill Hunter are superb in this classic Australian FILM!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from katie on Sat 17 Mar 2012 04:22 #

  58. Dean Measor is an English and Australian Stage and sometimes Film Actor. He has had to retire from all forms of Acting due to severe illness and health problems. He was very convincing in this amazing movie. This movie should indeed be played on every Melbourne Cup Eve. Also stars Abbie Cornish, Bill Hunter and Jason Donovan.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Angie on Mon 19 Nov 2012 02:36 #

  59. Very hot chicks! Funny film, especially during the actual running of the Melbourne Cup in the film!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DrongoDaveaussieaussie on Mon 19 Nov 2012 02:42 #

  60. "pearly" that is the worst review ever. A funny, quirky fast paced film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Loui on Sat 29 Dec 2012 21:38 #

  61. To the Clueless and Useless PEARLY ( above ) who has written quite easily the worst and most pathetic film review ever! Listen up you wanna be; this movie HORSEPLAY is a brilliant black comedy and both Marcus Graham and the brilliant Jason Donovan are very funny in this film. Jason Donovan is a STAND OUT in this fast paced comedy. Other STAND OUT actors in the film include Dean Measor and Jacek Koman. The Actor who totally sucks and brings the movie down is Damien Richardson who is just plain USELESS. Let's see PEARLY make the same kind of quality film on that shoe string budget. Let's see how many "punters" will pay for a ticket to your great flic. Pathetic review! This movie has a huge cult following and should be aired on free to air more often. Ten out of Ten!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Leigh on Wed 16 Jan 2013 00:21 #

  62. To the Clueless and Useless PEARLY ( above ) who has written quite easily the worst and most pathetic film review ever! Listen up you wanna be; this movie HORSEPLAY is a brilliant black comedy and both Marcus Graham and the brilliant Jason Donovan are very funny in this film. Jason Donovan is a STAND OUT in this fast paced comedy. Other STAND OUT actors in the film include Dean Measor and Jacek Koman. The Actor who totally sucks and brings the movie down is Damien Richardson who is just plain USELESS. Let's see PEARLY make the same kind of quality film on that shoe string budget. Let's see how many "punters" will pay for a ticket to your great flic. Pathetic review! This movie has a huge cult following and should be aired on free to air more often. Ten out of Ten!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Leigh on Wed 16 Jan 2013 00:22 #

  63. Dean Measor is so cute in this movie!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Bernice and Amanda on Wed 16 Jan 2013 00:26 #

  64. The above film review is the biggest piece of garbage I have ever read. The movie is a classic dark comedy and the cast of Horseplay is the who's who of Australian Actors. The Actor who is a very wink link I'd Damien Richardson. Bill Hunter, Dean Measor (brilliant) Tushka Bergen and Amanda Douge are nothing short of outstanding! Finally after 10 years this clever film gets wikipedia creditation. Dean Measor and Tushka Bergen are very underrated actors in every way and this movie seems to have been a curse on their careers. This is a 10/10 movie.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Pop and Flo on Sun 21 Apr 2013 03:21 #

  65. TYPO* The above film review is the biggest piece of garbage I have ever read. The movie is a classic dark comedy and the cast of HORSEPLAY is the who's who of Australian Actors. The Actor who IS a weak link in the cast IS Damien Richardson. Bill Hunter, Dean Measor (brilliant), Tushka Bergen and Amanda Douge are nothing short of outstanding. Finally, after 10 years this clever film gets wikipedia creditation. Dean Measor and Tushka Bergen are very underrated Actors in every way and this movie seems to have been a curse on their careers. This is a 10/10 movie.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Pop and Flo on Mon 22 Apr 2013 02:33 #

  66. Dean Measor is a two time award winning actor and not an actual jockey. He did learn to ride as a jokey for the film though, but he is an English trained Stage Actor with many credits in stage and opera. In this movie he plays of the role of champion jockey JOE BYRNES so well that many who saw the film believed he eas the QLD based actual Jockey....Joe Byrnes. Stand outs in this funny and fast paced film are BILL HUNTER, YACEK KOMAN, DEAN MEASOR and ABBIE CORNISH.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Billy Simonds on Wed 24 Apr 2013 03:46 #

  67. Dean Measor is a two time award winning actor and not an actual jockey. He did learn to ride as a jockey for the film though, but he is an English trained Stage Actor with many credits in stage and opera. In this movie he plays of the role of champion jockey JOE BYRNES so well that many who saw the film believed he eas the QLD based actual Jockey....Joe Byrnes. Stand outs in this funny and fast paced film are BILL HUNTER, YACEK KOMAN, DEAN MEASOR and ABBIE CORNISH.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from murphy on Wed 24 Apr 2013 03:51 #

  68. A very, very, funny and underrated feature film!
    All the cast were brilliant and believable except Krista Vendy, Damien Richardson and Natalie Mendoza Jackson.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from phil on Wed 24 Apr 2013 03:55 #

  69. One of those movies that is just about unheard of and near impossible to get a hold of.
    Much comments for British born actor Dean Measor but the real star of this film is Marcus Graham.
    Abbie Cornish shines as well.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from soundclip41 on Wed 24 Apr 2013 22:22 #

  70. Manic and dark comedy. Jason Donovan, Marcus Graham, Abbie Cornish and unknown Dean Measor were very convincing. Robert Menzies was as good as ever. A good little movie. 8.5/10

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Spazzattack23141960 on Thu 25 Apr 2013 01:44 #

  71. A great scene in this movie is when Bill Hunter's character gives Dean Measor's character a good slap in the face. Real classic and well acted scene. Wikipedia states the movie stars Marcus Graham. In my opinion the star of the movie is the late Bill Hunter. RIP

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Bennybgood6564 on Mon 20 May 2013 02:23 #

  72. I will never to this day understand why this classic movie HORSEPLAY is not popular or well known? It's ten years old now and it has never ever been played on free to air television. Jason Donovan, Dean Measor, and Jacek Koman were excellent! This is my all time favourite Australian movie! Those three actors are just comic genious...... 10/10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from R2tea2 on Sat 25 May 2013 01:06 #

  73. I will never to this day understand why this classic movie HORSEPLAY is not popular or well known? It's ten years old now and it has never ever been played on free to air television. Jason Donovan, Dean Measor, and Jacek Koman were excellent! This is my all time favourite Australian movie! Those three actors are just comic genious...... 10/10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from R2tea2 on Sat 25 May 2013 01:06 #

  74. Bill Hunter is really enjoyable in Horseplay. A good chemistry with him and the actor who played the jockey!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Rodney G. on Sat 25 May 2013 01:11 #

  75. Bill Hunter is really enjoyable in Horseplay. A good chemistry with him and the actor who played the jockey!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Rodney G. on Sat 25 May 2013 01:11 #

  76. This is an exceptional movie full stop. Jason Donovan flew over from London to film this black and dark comedy after sending his audition tape from London. Abbie Cornish and Bill Hunter are quite brilliant indeed. The actor who plays Joe Byrnes is English born UK and Australian Stage/Theatre Actor Dean Measor. He retired from acting in November 1995 after a major emergency blot clot surgery. He has been plagued with major health issues including heart attack, stroke, degenerative disc and joint disease. He is also a diabetic, and suffers with severe depression, anxiety, panic disorder and attacks as a result. He has also lost most of his sight. He has had over 30 surgeries for his disc and joint degenerative illness. Some of his Stage and Theatre credits and achievements are; Cosi Fan Tutte, Macbeth, Lucia Di Lammermoor, Peter Grimes, La Traviata, Who Will They Clone Next, The College Room, Antony & Cleopatra, Romeo & Juliet and Little Red Riding Hood. To this day he remains a very underrated actor of stage. A good film he made was Body Melt as the Voice Of Beauville and also he appeared in the 2002 Trofest Film, I Can't Get Started, which won an award for Best Director. He has also appeared on the Television series Neighbours, Pig's Breakfast and the feature length documentary Commedia Dell ' arte: The story The Style as the legendary character PUCK.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Patricia Tennant on Sat 01 Jun 2013 08:37 #

  77. Dean Measor's best stage performance was in Die Meister Singer Von Nurnberg in 1994. an absolute epic.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Patricia Tennant on Sat 01 Jun 2013 08:44 #

  78. Horseplay is a great movie. I first saw it at The Myer Music Bowl in Melbourne CBD. Dean Measor was very believeable as Joe Byrnes. Abbie Cornish is in this movie before she had world fame. The late Bill Hunter was also excellent in this comedy/drama. 10 / 10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Sally G. on Sat 22 Jun 2013 07:14 #

  79. Hi Sally, I saw the screening of Horseplay at the same outdoor venue as you. That would have been 2002-2003? It was raining all the time but it didn't spoil the laughs. I went to the movie as a Friend and guest of Dean Measor along with my then wife. He and the movie were awesome! He is the very best person you will EVER come across. He helped me with a headshot, my CV, my showreel and even got me some short student film roles. He even helped get me an agent. He made me believe in myself and that I was good enough to give acting and dancing a go. A better buddy you will not find.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Dane Angels AKA: Mindfreak on Thu 27 Jun 2013 01:02 #

  80. Dean Measor would have been a well known, successful actor by now if it was not for his tragic I'll health and a life of surgeries.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Alfred Stopcock on Thu 11 Jul 2013 05:33 #

  81. Typo : Dean Measor would have been a successful, well known actor by now if it was not for his tragic ill health and a life of surgeries.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Cecil Bea Demented on Thu 11 Jul 2013 05:39 #

  82. This is an hilarious little movie. Dean Measor has also appeared in the very funny "culy" movie, Body Melt playing the voice of the Character, Beauville. His last movie was Commedia dell'arte:The Story The Style. (2007) as PUCK. He also acted in the award winning TROPFEST film, I Can't Get Started. (2002) Including a Best Actor nomination. He retired in 2005/6 due to multiple health issues. HORSEPLAY also had a brilliant original musical score and soundtrack.

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from Gary Rhodes on Mon 29 Jul 2013 06:21 #

  83. Dean is the best actor and I miss you buddy. So sorry to hear about your joint and disc disease. Two heart attacks, a stroke, depression, diabetes and glaucoma is too much at one time. I just wish I was Jesus myself so I could help you.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Dane Angels on Tue 30 Jul 2013 06:49 #

  84. "PEARLY" is an idiot!
    10/10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from mindfreak aka DAA on Tue 30 Jul 2013 06:54 #

  85. Dean Measor is an English born Australian and British Actor primarly working on Stage and Theatre. Amongst his Stage Credits are; *Macbeth
    *Antony & Cleopatra
    *Cosi Fan Tutte
    *Peter Grimes
    *The Master Singers
    *La Traviata
    *Luccia
    *Who Will They Clone Next?
    *Little Red Riding Hood
    *Rumpelstiltskin
    *The College Room amongst many others.
    A much underrated Actor/Singer.
    In this movie Horseplay he plays Joe Byrnes and is excellent.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Emma on Fri 02 Aug 2013 13:22 #

  86. Dean Measor is an English born Australian and British Actor primarly working on Stage and Theatre. Amongst his Stage Credits are; *Macbeth
    *Antony & Cleopatra
    *Cosi Fan Tutte
    *Peter Grimes
    *The Master Singers
    *La Traviata
    *Luccia
    *Who Will They Clone Next?
    *Little Red Riding Hood
    *Rumpelstiltskin
    *The College Room amongst many others.
    A much underrated Actor/Singer.
    In this movie Horseplay he plays Joe Byrnes and is excellent.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Emma on Fri 02 Aug 2013 13:22 #

  87. His portrayal of a drunken LEPIDUS won him critical acclaim in *Antony & Cleopatra.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Emma on Fri 02 Aug 2013 13:28 #

  88. I've not heard of the actor Dean Measor but I did enjoy this comedy about horse racing and Australia's "Melbourne Cup." I don't agree with the review and I will write one for this movie in the near future. I listen to jason Donovan all the time on radio and he was excellent in this film. Well worth watching.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Cheer The Lady on Fri 02 Aug 2013 20:47 #

  89. Real Jockey legend ALF (ACE) MATTHEWS is in this film.
    He's pretty good as the track side reporter actually.
    ACE is a L E G E N D!

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from BOLD RACER on Fri 02 Aug 2013 20:53 #

  90. This movie was nominated for the AFI BEST FILM in 2003.
    It should have won HANDS DOWN!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from typhoon on Sat 03 Aug 2013 02:44 #

  91. Damien Richardson is the worst actor in Australia. The rest of the cast in this movie are all good actors.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from tilly girl 17 on Sat 03 Aug 2013 02:49 #

  92. HOT BABES!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from SKUNK SCIENCE on Thu 08 Aug 2013 05:01 #

  93. Horseplay seems to have fallen off the planet? Why? It is an excellent movie! Elizabeth Sandy, Dean Measor, Craig Beamer, Abbie Cornish and Jason Donovan were very good. This movie should be played before/during the running of The Melbourne Cup on television.

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from Craig on Thu 24 Oct 2013 13:01 #

  94. HORSEPLAY is a brilliantly funny Australian movie about THE MELBOURNE CUP horse reace!
    The more popular "The Cup" that IS played every CUP EVE in Australia is BORING and MISERABLE compared to THIS very UNKNOWN movie.
    Why is this AUSTRALIAN classic "H O R S E P L A Y" still IGNORED and N E V E R played on free to air television? 2013 marks the TEN year anniversary of the release of H o R s E p L a Y

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Tahan on Mon 04 Nov 2013 19:20 #

  95. Dean Measor is really good in this movie.
    I agree, Horseplay should be played on the eve of the running of The Melbourne Cup each year. (It represents everything AUSTRALIAN)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Tim on Mon 04 Nov 2013 19:26 #

  96. Bill Hunter, Dean Measor and Abbie Cornish are SO good in this film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from jessica-Jane on Mon 04 Nov 2013 19:30 #

  97. Cast:
    Marcus Graham
    Tushka Bergan
    Jason Donovan
    Amanda Douge
    Dean Measor
    Bill Hunter
    Abbie Cornish
    Natalie Mendoza-Jackson
    Craig Beamer
    Robert Menzies
    Krista Vendy
    Alf Matthews
    Terrance Donovan
    Suzy Cato
    Jacek Koman

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from jessica-Jane on Mon 04 Nov 2013 19:44 #

  98. Damien Richardson is absolutely SHIT in this movie.
    "PEARLY" you are an idiot, don't give up your day job!
    Jason Donovan was excellent.
    The movie is MEANT to be acted OVER THE TOP you absolute moron!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from neil underwood on Tue 05 Nov 2013 15:33 #

  99. Damien Richardson is absolutely SHIT in this movie.
    "PEARLY" you are an idiot, don't give up your day job!
    Jason Donovan was excellent.
    The movie is MEANT to be acted OVER THE TOP you absolute moron!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from neil underwood on Tue 05 Nov 2013 15:33 #

  100. Damien Richardson is absolutely SHIT in this movie.
    "PEARLY" you are an idiot, don't give up your day job!
    Jason Donovan was excellent.
    The movie is MEANT to be acted OVER THE TOP you absolute moron!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from neil underwood on Tue 05 Nov 2013 15:33 #

  101. i liked (Alisha) played by Tushka Bergen, (Joe) played by Dean Measor and (Barry) played by Bill Hunter.
    Damien Richardson, Christina Collard and Krista Vendy were very poor. The pace and action was fast and furious. Good little movie.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from neilSUE BEST on Tue 05 Nov 2013 15:44 #

  102. Haven't heard of Christina Collard, Craig Beamer, Dean Measor, Elizabeth Sandy or Tushka Bergan?
    Good movie though watched it on DVD last night.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from 34cisnotgoodenough4meIneed2have@leastaD on Tue 05 Nov 2013 16:14 #

  103. cast members-

    MARCUS GRAHAM

    TUSHKA BERGEN

    JASON DONOVAN

    AMANDA DOUGE

    NATALIE MENDOZZA-JACKSON

    DEAN MEASOR

    BILL HUNTER

    HUGO WEAVING

    ROBERT MENZIES

    JACEK KOMAN

    ALISHA McCLENNAND

    ABBIE CORNISH

    ELIZABETH SANDY

    CHRISTINA COLLARD

    TERRANCE DONOVAN

    SUZY CATO

    CRAIG BEAMER

    MARK OWEN-TAYLOR

    KRISTA VENDY

    ALF MATTHEWS

    DAMIEN RICHARDSON

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Jenny Bryant on Tue 05 Nov 2013 16:31 #

  104. cast members-

    MARCUS GRAHAM

    TUSHKA BERGEN

    JASON DONOVAN

    AMANDA DOUGE

    NATALIE MENDOZZA-JACKSON

    DEAN MEASOR

    BILL HUNTER

    HUGO WEAVING

    ROBERT MENZIES

    JACEK KOMAN

    ALISHA McCLENNAND

    ABBIE CORNISH

    ELIZABETH SANDY

    CHRISTINA COLLARD

    TERRANCE DONOVAN

    SUZY CATO

    CRAIG BEAMER

    MARK OWEN-TAYLOR

    KRISTA VENDY

    ALF MATTHEWS

    DAMIEN RICHARDSON

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Jenny Bryant on Tue 05 Nov 2013 16:31 #

  105. explosions
    car chases
    murder
    drama
    comedy
    horse racing
    great sound track
    gorgeous women
    what else do you need?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from peter jenkins on Mon 11 Nov 2013 15:58 #

  106. i was an extra in this movie. I'm in the background of a scene where a race day reporter is interviewing Bill Hunter, Dean Measor, and Krista Vendy. This movie is shot and edited really well.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rachael (Malvern) on Wed 13 Nov 2013 12:24 #

  107. (DAMIEN RICHARDSON) iS NO PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN!
    Philip Seymour Hoffman is talented for one thing.

    A comment from Dave on Wed 13 Nov 2013 12:32 #

  108. dean measor was an up and coming Actor in the 90's and early 2000's before his health deteriorated. damian richardson is an over rated "actor"
    abbie cornish was brilliant in this film

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from pongo on Sun 01 Dec 2013 18:23 #

  109. I saw this movie at the pictures.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from SIMON SHAW on Sun 01 Dec 2013 18:28 #

  110. That wasn't very clever was it really?

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from alan humphries on Sun 01 Dec 2013 18:32 #

  111. Horseplay was filmed in late 2001 and was released in 2003, ten years ago. Jason Donovan, Dean Measor, Abbie Cornish and Hugo Weaving (Narrator) were interesting and entertaining in this black comedy.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from JUDY P. on Sun 01 Dec 2013 18:46 #

  112. Dean Measor was so good in this movie! He reminds me of a mixture of Jack Wild, Richard O'Sullivan and Robin Stewart. He also remains a very underrated stage actor to this day.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Nancy on Mon 16 Dec 2013 03:10 #

  113. Dean Measor is my favourite actor. He was so cute in Horseplay. This movie is too short. (9)

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Trisha on Mon 23 Dec 2013 22:40 #

  114. Dean Measor reminds me of Mike Myers, but I do see some Richard O'Sullivan and Jack Wild in him too! :) He is a little like Robin Stewart and also a younger David Jason. Robert Menzies is a good actor. :) I can' t seem to get my hands on a copy of this film on DVD or VHS? :(

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Trisha on Mon 23 Dec 2013 22:50 #

  115. Merry Christmas Dean Measor! ;-) xoxoxo

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Trisha on Wed 25 Dec 2013 04:18 #

  116. Hi Trisha, Emma, Bernice and sexy Nancy! Happy Christmas! Happy New Year! DEAN MEASOR forever! Love AMANDA! :-) XO

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Amanda on Wed 25 Dec 2013 04:25 #

  117. I don't know how I missed this movie at the actual cinema when it came out? I can NOT remember it at the box office at all??????

    It was one of the very best movies I have ever seen!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Michael on Tue 31 Dec 2013 15:59 #

  118. dean measor is the best actor ever. miss you buddy.
    (m.freak2)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Dane Angel on Tue 31 Dec 2013 16:06 #

  119. HAPPY NEW YEAR Dean Measor!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rodney on Fri 03 Jan 2014 01:44 #

  120. The scene where BILL HUNTER and DEAN MEASOR argue and fight straight after the "race" is absolutely sensational. The person who wrote this review is an absolute DICK.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Andy P, on Sat 04 Jan 2014 16:25 #

  121. PEARLY....... YOU are an idiot! Jason Donovan, Jacek Koman, Dean Measor, Bill Hunter and Abbie Cornish were all really good. Damien Richardson totally sucked in Horseplay. Don't give up your day job PEARLY.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Toni Barry on Sat 04 Jan 2014 16:33 #

  122. I have the sound track to this flick and it is absolutely brilliant! Original musical score by Nigel Westlake, plus some great songs! Bought it at an ABC shop in Melbourne. Also saw it in Dymocks.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from B.A. on Sat 04 Jan 2014 16:43 #

  123. I thought that was the Queensland jockey/hoop Joe Burns? That actor could play Darren Gauci in a movie if he can actually ride? :-) ~hot~chicks!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Pat on Sat 04 Jan 2014 20:38 #

  124. dean measor is one of my favorite male comic actors too!
    suzy kato was funny.
    A funny movie.........but way too short in length?
    9 for me.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from one armed bandit on Mon 06 Jan 2014 05:02 #

  125. Dean Measor is the best actor in the world. Miss ya buddy.
    Dane in (China) xo

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from dane angel on Mon 06 Jan 2014 05:05 #

  126. Tushka Bergen and Dean Measor have never worked again, since this movie was released. I know the latter actor has suffered with poor health, but what ever happened to the very talented and beautiful Tushka Bergen? Maybe she retired?
    I enjoyed this fun movie and I do not agree with the "PEARLY" review in any way. Horseplay is quite a unique movie and the narration of Hugo Weaving is marvellous.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Helen Saunders on Thu 09 Jan 2014 18:10 #

  127. Out of all the movies Bill Hunter ever made; this is his best film by a country mile!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Linda on Thu 09 Jan 2014 18:22 #

  128. The writer/director of HORSEPLAY is also the maker of: *Love And Other Catastrophes
    *Russian Doll
    *True Love And Chaos
    *Real Planet.

    True Love And Chaos is the best film ever.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Penny on Thu 09 Jan 2014 18:35 #

  129. Best comedy-drama since Muriell's Wedding.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from scarlet pimpernal 78 on Fri 10 Jan 2014 04:48 #

  130. This is s a very funny and clever black comedy-drama. A million plot changes and the wikipedia of the Australian acting call sheet.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Leslie Young on Fri 10 Jan 2014 04:53 #

  131. NICOLE PERAZZO/PERRAZO.....................................AKA-PEARLY.........................you are an absolute moron/idiot. This movie is a bloody ripper film. And you say you are a Melbourne girl?????

    Damien Richardson over acted in this other wise gem of a movie, so your taste in acting ability is embarrassing!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Harold Howard on Fri 10 Jan 2014 05:07 #

  132. Horseplay should have secured Stavros Kazantzidis with his 3rd A.F.I. Award.
    Horseplay should have won Best Film in 2003.
    What a pathetic joke!
    (ONLY NOMINATED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
    wtf?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from 42 diamondcarotgeezer on Fri 10 Jan 2014 05:14 #

  133. I have noticed that this movie has slowly and slowly got more popular as time goes by. It has never been played on free to air TV (only foxtel/cable)
    The DVD is no longer available for purchase. One of those movies that sadly, will be lost in time forever. Bill Hunter's greatest role for sure.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from julie on Wed 15 Jan 2014 18:20 #

  134. I went to drama school with Dean Measor. It's a shame he is so poorly. Wishing him well.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from R. on Wed 15 Jan 2014 18:29 #

  135. Damien Richardson is an absolutely useless actor.

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from I AM THE HUNTER on Wed 15 Jan 2014 18:42 #

  136. Damien Richardson is an absolutely useless actor.

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from I AM THE HUNTER on Wed 15 Jan 2014 18:42 #

  137. The best actors in this film are ALL underrated or even unknown;
    DEAN MEASOR
    CRAIG BEAMER
    ELIZABETH SANDY
    CHRISTINA COLLARD
    AND SUZY CATO.

    What a waste of great fresh talent!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from michael page on Thu 16 Jan 2014 03:20 #

  138. I used to go to primary school and also played basket ball with the actor who played Joe Byrnes. He was a good player. My mum used to drive us to the basket ball courts after school.
    How did I miss this movie when it came out at the cinema as I've seen all the Australian movies? A great film with really fast and never ending plot changes
    What other movies have I misssed?

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from BLACKIE (Greenslopes Days) on Fri 17 Jan 2014 13:56 #

  139. I used to go to primary school and also played basket ball with the actor who played Joe Byrnes. He was a good player. My mum used to drive us to the basket ball courts after school.
    How did I miss this movie when it came out at the cinema as I've seen all the Australian movies? A great film with really fast and never ending plot changes
    What other movies have I misssed?

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from BLACKIE (Greenslopes Days) on Fri 17 Jan 2014 13:57 #

  140. Yep! Tushka Bergen, Dean Measor and Craig Beamer were all born in the United Kingdom.
    Hugo Weaving is a New Zealander. Abbie Cornish is a REALLY good Actress. This is an awesome movie. Maybe you can still get it via contacting Beauna Vista?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from TIM on Fri 17 Jan 2014 14:19 #

  141. Dean Measor is far too HUMBLE to succeed in the EGO crazed ACTING INDUSTRY.

    Good Australian film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DONNA on Tue 21 Jan 2014 05:31 #

  142. Dean Measor is far too HUMBLE to succeed in the EGO crazed ACTING INDUSTRY.

    Good Australian film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DONNA on Tue 21 Jan 2014 05:32 #

  143. Dean Measor is far too HUMBLE to succeed in the EGO crazed ACTING INDUSTRY.

    Good Australian film.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DONNA on Tue 21 Jan 2014 05:32 #

  144. Dean should have stayed acting on stage in the theatre where he belonged. XX

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DONNA on Tue 21 Jan 2014 05:35 #

  145. Dean should have stayed acting on stage in the theatre where he belonged. XX

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from DONNA on Tue 21 Jan 2014 05:36 #

  146. I have seen Dean Measor "in stand up" impersonate a WITCH DOCTOR- UNCLE RICO-
    THATCHER-(The Iron Lady)
    RANDY SAVAGE- FRANK SPENCER-
    DEL TROTTER- JOHN MERRICK-(The Elephant Man)
    DETECTIVE COLUMBO-
    and many other funny characters. He can do so many character voices and imitations. He reminds me of that actor from Red Dwarf who can do all the voices.
    Horseplay is a good little movie. Natalie Mendoza is gorgeous. Jason Donovan is well funny and Abbie Cornish was really good as Becky.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Donna on Wed 22 Jan 2014 01:19 #

  147. elizabeth sandy, craig beamer, christina collard,
    dean measor, suzy cato are all fairly unknown FILM ACTORS who all do a great job.

    Iike other people commenting on this thread, i can not believe i missed this movie when it came out? and why is it not played every melbourne cup eve in australia. what a waste of a very funny film.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from jeremy on Wed 22 Jan 2014 01:31 #

  148. krista Vendy wasn't in it very much? She's beautiful.
    Terence Donovan is pretty funny in this film.
    Never heard of Craig Beamer, Elizabeth Sandy, or Christina Collard but they were excellent.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from pUnTeR on Wed 22 Jan 2014 19:56 #

  149. krista Vendy wasn't in it very much? She's beautiful.
    Terence Donovan is pretty funny in this film.
    Never heard of Craig Beamer, Elizabeth Sandy, or Christina Collard but they were excellent.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from pUnTeR on Wed 22 Jan 2014 19:56 #

  150. krista Vendy wasn't in it very much? She's beautiful.
    Terence Donovan is pretty funny in this film.
    Never heard of Craig Beamer, Elizabeth Sandy, or Christina Collard but they were excellent.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from pUnTeR on Wed 22 Jan 2014 19:57 #

  151. HOW MANY SUPER HOT GORGEOUS CHICKS ARE IN THIS FILM!!!!!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rodney Hicks on Wed 22 Jan 2014 20:02 #

  152. Abbie Cornish is HHHH OOOO TTTT!!!!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Chris on Thu 23 Jan 2014 00:20 #

  153. i saw this movie at crown casino. It was better than I thought it would be.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from trig on Tue 28 Jan 2014 14:44 #

  154. Horseplay is the second best movie Stavros Kazantzidis has made. The best is True Love And Chaos.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Donna on Wed 29 Jan 2014 19:11 #

  155. Damien Richardson is the worst ******* actor in the world.

    A comment from theWILDthing on Sun 02 Feb 2014 00:58 #

  156. Dean Measor would have been a good actor but he has fallen on very hard times. He's was still alive as of Jan-2013.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from john antonius on Fri 07 Feb 2014 02:31 #

  157. pretty cool.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from mysweetembrace on Fri 07 Feb 2014 02:37 #

  158. I would just like to say that I agree with (Julie's) above comment 100%

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from john antonius on Fri 07 Feb 2014 02:43 #

  159. Horseplay is a really cool movie! Don't understand how it wasn't a massive hit?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from craig on Tue 11 Feb 2014 00:07 #

  160. Dean Measor is a far better musician (drummer) than he is an actor. He's a freaking human metradone!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Robin on Sun 16 Feb 2014 04:31 #

  161. Robert Menzies, Jacek Koman and Dean Measor are primarily excellent STAGE ACTORS, both dramatic and comedic. Horseplay is a good little movie actually.
    (All the above mentioned actors have won awards for THEATRE I think.)

    Cheers. Mike Stewart.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Mike on Sun 16 Feb 2014 23:58 #

  162. Robert Menzies, Jacek Koman and Dean Measor are primarily excellent STAGE ACTORS, both dramatic and comedic. Horseplay is a good little movie actually.
    (All the above mentioned actors have won awards for THEATRE I think.)

    Cheers. Mike Stewart.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Mike on Sun 16 Feb 2014 23:58 #

  163. Dean Measor was an excellent actor before poor health and illness left him on hard times. Get voting for him on whosdatedwho.com and give him a high rating. He was a very underrated talent and an absolute smasjing geeza to boot.
    Cheers.
    Rodney.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rodney on Thu 20 Feb 2014 04:49 #

  164. Dean Measor was an excellent actor before poor health and illness left him on hard times. Get voting for him on whosdatedwho.com and give him a high rating. He was a very underrated talent and an absolute smasjing geeza to boot.
    Cheers.
    Rodney.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Rodney on Thu 20 Feb 2014 04:50 #

  165. Hi Punter!
    Krista Vendy was in a lot of the deleted scenes of the movie that appear on the DVD.
    Plenty of blond bombshells in this film! I enjoyed HORSEPLAY.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Sid on Fri 21 Feb 2014 01:44 #

  166. Hi Punter!
    Krista Vendy was in a lot of the deleted scenes of the movie that appear on the DVD.
    Plenty of blond bombshells in this film! I enjoyed HORSEPLAY.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Sid on Fri 21 Feb 2014 01:44 #

  167. Hi Punter!
    Krista Vendy was in a lot of the deleted scenes of the movie that appear on the DVD.
    Plenty of blond bombshells in this film! I enjoyed HORSEPLAY.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Sid on Fri 21 Feb 2014 01:44 #

  168. BILL HUNTER IS A LEGEND. (RIP)

    DAMIEN RICHARDSON IS A PLANK OF WOOD.

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from Ernie on Fri 21 Feb 2014 03:06 #

  169. I really enjoyed this movie when it came out. Terence Donovan and Bill Hunter were hilarious. I too, do not understand why this sporting comedy was NOT a huge with the Australian box office? It's a bit fishy as the cast is an absolute stellar A list from top to bottom. The subject of the film is relevant more than ever in Australia and the writer, director is an AFI award winner? One of the best films Bill Hunter made.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Phil on Mon 24 Feb 2014 12:33 #

  170. TO COMPARE THE LATE AND LEGENDARY PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN (ONE OF THE GREATEST ACTORS OF ALL TIME) TO SOME USELESS ONE DIMENSIAL DUD LIKE damien richardson IS PATHETIC.
    HE WAS ONE OF THE FEW ACTORS WHO WRECKED THIS FILM.

    YOU WANT AN AUSTRALIAN LEGEND: ... BILL HUNTER.

    A comment from Brian on Wed 26 Feb 2014 14:25 #

  171. PEARLY your movie review is one I would not pay to read.

    There is "comedy" in every single subject on earth if you have any IQ.

    Marcus Graham and Jason Donovan are no washed up soap actors. Both have been constantly working in the industry for over thirty years.

    Damien Richardson was the most "over the top" character in the movie.

    The narration only enhances an action packed, funny, fast passed black comedy. The movie, editing and narration was ahead of its time.

    Your review totally contradicts itself. I'll give you a 2 out of 10.
    Don't give up your day job, that is if you indeed have one.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Richard on Wed 26 Feb 2014 14:48 #

  172. Ignorant and shallow review.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Charles on Thu 27 Feb 2014 13:59 #

  173. There are so many unknown "film" actors in this movie.
    Alisha McClennand-
    Elizabeth Sandy-
    Christina Collard-
    Craig Beamer-
    etc,
    HORSEPLAY is a good Australian film but it seems the running time is very short?
    Amanda Douge is my favourite actress. Totally underrated.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Tessa on Sun 02 Mar 2014 04:16 #

  174. Stavros kazantzidis has written much better films than Horseplay. True Love And Chaos for example.
    A massive kidnap/robbery on Melbourne Cup day is a pretty cool idea.
    The basic horse ring at the start of the movie sucks when that guy draws a white mark on the horses face. By the end of the race it would have sweated and totally come off.

    Jacek Koman was really great in his scenes.

    Bill Hunter is a legend.

    Philip Seymour Hoffman (RIP)

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from Vicky on Sun 02 Mar 2014 04:31 #

  175. Stavros kazantzidis has written much better films than Horseplay. True Love And Chaos for example.
    A massive kidnap/robbery on Melbourne Cup day is a pretty cool idea.
    The basic horse ring at the start of the movie sucks when that guy draws a white mark on the horses face. By the end of the race it would have sweated and totally come off.

    Jacek Koman was really great in his scenes.

    Bill Hunter is a legend.

    Philip Seymour Hoffman (RIP)

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from Vicky on Sun 02 Mar 2014 04:31 #

  176. Not all the girls/chickS in Horseplay are hot. Christina Collard and Elizabath Sandy are not THAT sexy!!!!!!

    A comment from tessa on Sat 08 Mar 2014 05:11 #

  177. come spring racing carnival time in Australia and melbourne cup eve this movie won't get a look in. They will play the 2010 film "the cup" which stars bill hunter in his last ever film role.

    A comment from pUnTeR on Sat 08 Mar 2014 13:13 #

  178. Tushka Bergen finally on wilipedia!

    The actor who played Jockey-JOE BYRNES looks nothing like he did in HORSEPLAY. He has really aged poorly due to poor health, stress and loads of surgeries. It's a pity because he had an interesting look and style on screen. Best of wishes to him.

    Damien Richardson IS 100% NOT the EQUIVALENT to the late and LEGENDARY PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN. Terrible call on comparing the just one dimensional Damien Richardson with one of the greatest ACTORS of ALL time periods.

    RIP-Philip Seymour Hoffman.

    RIP-Bill Hunter.

    I hope that one day this movie will get the respect it so deserved when it first came out.

    LP from the Herald Sun started the damage by refusing to even rate the film when it came out, despite it being nominated by the AFI for Best Film in 2003.

    Put it on free to air or re-release it on DVD/blue ray and it will start to get a cult following for sure.

    The film HORSEPLAY has only just made it into wikipedia as a STUB entry after more than 11 years.

    pearly-terrible, contradicting attempt at a review? And you say you are a Melbourne person???

    Check it out for your self folks.

    10/10

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Bjenkins222 on Tue 11 Mar 2014 04:59 #

  179. Good, enjoyable little film. Nothing more, nothing less.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from tim on Tue 11 Mar 2014 15:15 #

  180. Great musical score by Nigel Westlake.
    UNDERRATED.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Rosemary on Tue 11 Mar 2014 15:23 #

  181. The sole reason why this potentially great movie didn't go on to be an Australian classic is because it had virtually NO ADVERTISING OR MARKETING. No one even knew it was on at the cinemas! The day before its national release in Australia, it received a couple of manic 10 second grabs on late evening television? Blink and it's missed forever. That was it?

    Horseplay was made in late 2001, but not released until the winter of 2003? It was originally set for release on the eve of the 2002 MELBOURNE CUP but this didn't happen? Some obscure date instead in 2003?

    Melbourne, in Australia is supposed to be sport crazy, so the cup eve release of this movie would have been perfect, especially with ADVERTISING and MARKETING.

    The advertising and marketing is so crucial to the potential success of any movie, let alone one made on a shoe string budget.

    The DVD and sound track was on sale for a very period after its time at the box office.

    Nobody even knows of its existence.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Dane Mindfreak on Wed 12 Mar 2014 15:08 #

  182. Musical score composed by NIGEL WESTLAKE. Edited by Andrew Macneil. Director Of Photography David Eggby, A.C.S.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Kelly C on Thu 13 Mar 2014 15:04 #

  183. underrated motion picture slammed by all media crictics in Australia. (unfairly)

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from david on Mon 17 Mar 2014 06:23 #

  184. I went to see this movie three times when it came out. It seems that just like me, there ARE people out there who liked Horseplay. Nobody I have spoken to has ever seen this movie. There was no advertising or marketing for the movie's release. Stavros Kazantzidis has made other good films too.

    A comment from Andy on Thu 20 Mar 2014 16:25 #

  185. I remember this movie when it came out. (about ten years ago)
    I can not get my hands on a copy of this movie anywhere. Can anyone help please?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Tulla on Mon 24 Mar 2014 01:01 #

  186. Try contacting Beaunna Vista International (Australia)

    You can pick up quality 2nd hand copies on e-bay for near to nothing.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from floreslola22 on Mon 31 Mar 2014 13:31 #

  187. damien richardson IS setting himself up to be the next PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN? Wtf?
    Most stupid and pathetic comparison EVER!

    congratulatons to STAVROS and ALLANAH on the birth of their baby.

    A comment from smoke-jumper on Mon 07 Apr 2014 13:59 #

  188. Hello PENNY, the actual name of the Stavros Kazantzidis film is STRANGE PLANET not (Real Planet).

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Kelly C on Fri 11 Apr 2014 14:19 #

  189. Hello PENNY, the actual name of the Stavros Kazantzidis film is STRANGE PLANET not (Real Planet).

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Kelly C on Fri 11 Apr 2014 14:19 #

  190. This is one of Australia's best movies. Very funny and equally as underrated and appreciated.

    Good performances from Jason Donovan, Abbie Cornish, Jacek Korman and Dean Measor.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Remi on Thu 24 Apr 2014 17:51 #

  191. i saw the actor who played "Joe Byrnes"(Dean Measor) on the red carpet at the TROPFEST short film festival in Sydney in late 2002 and he looked gorgeous and really happy. I saw him in March of this year (2014) in Melbourne and he looked virtually unrecognizable. He looked in very poor health and has aged badly. He looked liked he was in constant pain. It was sad to see him that way. On behalf of a small but loyal base of UK fans, I would like to wish him our warmest and best wishes.
    He was so cute in Horseplay. XO

    A comment from TRISH on Thu 24 Apr 2014 22:44 #

  192. Pretty poor review by PEARLY.

    A very funny Australian movie.

    Bill Hunter is brilliant as Barry Coxhead.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from croydonACE89 on Fri 25 Apr 2014 21:46 #

  193. I have not seen this movie as I don't like Stavros's film in general. It did poorly at the box office and with film critics and media.

    True Love And Chaos was an ok movie, but I don't like his other films.

    A comment from KEN H. on Mon 28 Apr 2014 01:30 #

  194. HORSEPLAY IS THE BEST MOVIE TO COME OUT OF AUSTRALIA SINCE MURIEL'S WEDDING!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Derek O'Nimmo on Wed 30 Apr 2014 14:22 #

  195. Yes, it is so good to many other fans comment on this movie! ;-)

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from startrekka3265 on Sun 04 May 2014 03:28 #

  196. I just discovered this movie on DVD yesterday. It is an excellent movie and I had no idea that it was made well over 10 years ago? The only thing that dates the film is the old model mobile phones. Can't find hardly any information on the internet about Horseplay. W-pedia entry is just a stub. I found the movie highly entertaining.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Tasha on Sun 11 May 2014 18:00 #

  197. YEP, GREAT FLICK!
    BS REVIEW!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from aslhull on Sun 18 May 2014 03:23 #

  198. Another quickly forgotten movie, which is very unfortunate.

    Amanda Douge and Dean Measor also starred in BODYMELT (1993) possibly THE MOST forgotten AUSTRALIAN MOVIE ever.

    HORSEPLAY looks dead and burried but BODYMELT seems to be gathering a large CULT following in Europe and the USA.

    The above film review by PEARLY is very misleading and full of many inaccuracies.

    Stellar performances in HORSEPLAY by Amanda Douge, Dean Measor, Bill Hunter, Abbie Cornish and Jason Donovan.

    Brilliant filmscore by Nigel Westlake.

    The official soundtrack is pure entertainment and value for money.

    I would rate HORSEPLAY very highly. 9/10.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from lisa kenny on Tue 20 May 2014 15:21 #

  199. I remember reading somwhere that Jimoin was originally going to play MAX McKENDRICK and not Marcus Graham?

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from ciara on Fri 23 May 2014 03:07 #

  200. I prefer Horseplay
    over, Russian Doll, Strange Planet and True Love And Chaos. I have seen both Jason Donovan and Dean Measor in London's West End. I don't know why this movie received such fierce crtical reviews at the time. Horseplay is brilliantly cast with stellar performances from Bill Hunter, Marcus Graham, Abbie Cornish, Amanda Douge and Jason Donovan.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Debbie on Tue 27 May 2014 14:11 #

  201. I prefer Horseplay
    over, Russian Doll, Strange Planet and True Love And Chaos. I have seen both Jason Donovan and Dean Measor in London's West End. I don't know why this movie received such fierce crtical reviews at the time. Horseplay is brilliantly cast with stellar performances from Bill Hunter, Marcus Graham, Abbie Cornish, Amanda Douge and Jason Donovan.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Debbie Watson on Tue 27 May 2014 14:12 #

  202. I prefer Horseplay
    over, Russian Doll, Strange Planet and True Love And Chaos. I have seen both Jason Donovan and Dean Measor in London's West End. I don't know why this movie received such fierce crtical reviews at the time. Horseplay is brilliantly cast with stellar performances from Bill Hunter, Marcus Graham, Abbie Cornish, Amanda Douge and Jason Donovan.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from Debbie on Tue 27 May 2014 14:20 #

  203. Honestly, I liked this movie way better than "The Cup" which Bill Hunter also starred in. Dean Measor as the champion jockey has an interesting look in this film. Abbie Cornish is the star of this film and Damien Richardson is the biggest disappointment in this film.
    Brilliantly shot by the talented David Eggby.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from jacques on Tue 03 Jun 2014 05:27 #

  204. THIS MOVIE IS HILARIOUS.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from JEREMY on Tue 17 Jun 2014 14:58 #

  205. I met Bill Hunter and Dean Measor at The Flemington Race Track when they were filming a scene for this movie. They were really nice. I use to listen to Jason Donovan on the radio when I was living in Margate in the UK. Horseplay is my favourite Australian movie.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from alley20 on Mon 30 Jun 2014 15:06 #

  206. I had no trouble purchasing a DVD of this movie when it was released. I purchased it from the ABC shop along with the Sound-Track. I remember it even being available at the Supermarket for a short while I think.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from sarah on Wed 02 Jul 2014 15:22 #

  207. I had no trouble purchasing a DVD of this movie when it was released. I purchased it from the ABC shop along with the Sound-Track. I remember it even being available at the Supermarket for a short while I think.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from sarah on Wed 02 Jul 2014 15:22 #

  208. I do not agree with the comment left by mmrs.
    Actor Dean Measor did not suck in this movie, he was actually quite brilliant. The actual movie was very entertaining too.

    Rating given: 7

    A comment from BERNICE on Wed 16 Jul 2014 14:31 #

  209. Dean Measor was a very underrated actor. The reason he virtually disappeared from acting after this film premiered (I think he made one other movie in 05 or 07 according to IMDB) was because of deteriorating health problems. From what I understand, he is sadly still unwell a decade or so later. I think it's a shame as he was a really good stage actor, especially of comedy. I have read that he said he was actually in a fair amount of pain during the filming of Horesplay with his back and shoulders but he kept very quiet about it. Despite of the fact; he looked really good in this film. I enjoyed Horseplay, it did not deserve the mass negative press that it received. Abbie Cornish was a clear stand out and soon became a major Hollywood star.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from jAnIcE T. on Fri 01 Aug 2014 05:57 #

  210. Hey Janice-
    Dean Measor was by far UNDERRATED. totally!
    here are some of his acting credits, yet he is totally unknown.

    film/short film/television credits:

    (2005) Commedia dell'Arte: The Story The Style. "Puck"

    (2003) Horseplay. "Joe Byrnes"

    (2002) Ain't Got No Jazz. "The Host"

    (2002) Kamikazie. "Chris"

    (2002) I Can't Get Started. "The Little Guy"

    (2001) The Eggs. "Rotten"

    (2001) McCain's Stir-n-Serve TVC. "Techno Dude"

    (2001) Domtex Million Dollar Clearance Sale. "Kid Dynamite"

    (2001) One Day Bliss. "Murder Victim"

    (2001) Snare. "Boyfriend"

    (2001) Occupied. "Sunshine Gangster"

    (2001) Misfit. "The Clown"

    (2000) Interactive Flesh. "Dave Last"

    (2000) Stealth Panthers. "Ken Jane"

    (2000) Cheltenwick City. "Lewis" and "The Voice Of Con Paperdaicos"

    (2000) Life Class. "Ian"

    (2000) Real Time. "The Writer"

    (2000) Morning After. "Lover"

    (2000) The Colour Of Impotence. "Dwight"

    (1999) Pig's Breakfast. "Grob Double" (52 episodes)

    (1999) Pig's Breakfast. "Plaaag Warrior" (episode #37)

    (1997) Dead End. "Reporter" (not credited)

    (1996) Red Amber. "Jumping Jack Flash"

    (1993) Australia's Most Wanted. "The Carlina Ward Murder"

    (1993) Neighbours. "Heikki" (episode #1875)

    (1993) Body Melt. "Beauville's Voice"

    (1992) Phoenix. "Journalist" (not credited)

    (1992) Half Way Across The Galaxy And Turn Left. "Yarp Double" (not credited)

    (1992) Half Way Across The Galaxy And Turn Left. "Zergon the Space Cleaner" (not credited)

    (1992) Boys From The Bush (Series 2) "1st Clerk"

    (1991) L.E.A.P "Michael"


    stage/theatre credits:

    (2006) Santa's Magic Cave. "Charlotte"

    (2005) Hot WaXXX.
    "Tulla" and "John"

    (2004) Who Will They Clone Next? "Robert Bright"

    (2004) Santa's Magic Cave. "Charlotte"

    (2002) Rumpelstiltskin. "Title Role" and "Cockney Fly-Pitcher"

    (1998) Macbeth. "Attendant" and "Soldier" (Opera Australia)

    (1998) Cosi Fan Tutte. "Stage Hand" (Opera Australia)

    (1996) Peter Grimes. "Fisherman" (Opera Australia)

    (1996) Lucia di Lammermoor. "Page Boy" (Opera Australia)

    (1995) La Traviata. "Servant" (Opera Australia)

    (1994) Die Meister Singer. "Sports Student" (Opera Australia)

    (1993) The College Room. "Mickey Blotts"

    (1990) A Midsummer Night's Drean. "Puck"

    (1990) Antony & Cleopatra. "Lepidus"

    (1989) Little Red Riding Hood. "Woodcutter" and "Prince Richard"

    these are some of his credits i know of. he was a good actor and very underrated.


    A comment from Bernice from DeanMeasorUKfanclub on Fri 01 Aug 2014 21:08 #

  211. I don't agree one little bit with the review listed above for the movie Horseplay. The movie is extremely funny through out and cleverly dark in the right places. Horseplay IS a farcical; it was meant to be a completely ridiculous catastrophe "A sudden great disaster" from start to finish. That was the point and the inspiration of the film in the first place. Following the themes of other Stavros Kazantzidis films. I don't understand the lack of financial box-office success or the negative press it has always received.
    A really funny and clever black comedy.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Lorraine on Tue 12 Aug 2014 13:11 #

  212. To the above
    comments 199 and 200: I'm pretty sure Dean Measor also appeared in an episode of the second series of Ocean Girl (Ocean Girl 2) also a later episode of State Coroner? (Court scene) and an episode of Round The Twist? (Jockey) (possibly series 2 or later) and also an episode of a later series of Sea Change. (Dinner function or Wedding Function)
    He has also been in some really good commercials on television.
    I haven't seen Horseplay.

    A comment from Big-Salvation on Wed 20 Aug 2014 01:57 #

  213. To the above
    comments 199 and 200: I'm pretty sure Dean Measor also appeared in an episode of the second series of Ocean Girl (Ocean Girl 2) also a later episode of State Coroner? (Court scene) and an episode of Round The Twist? (Jockey) (possibly series 2 or later) and also an episode of a later series of Sea Change. (Dinner function or Wedding Function)
    He has also been in some really good commercials on television.
    I haven't seen Horseplay.

    A comment from Big-Salvation on Wed 20 Aug 2014 02:01 #

  214. I think he was also in The Barber Of Saville in The West End around 1996?

    A comment from BIG SALVATION on Thu 21 Aug 2014 15:00 #

  215. I can't believe I left out that credit! Thank you Big Salvation! It was "Sweeney Todd" he was in NOT "The Barber Of Seville"
    (lol)

    A comment from BERNICE on Fri 22 Aug 2014 01:16 #

  216. Did you see how he was getting fairly regular work until around2003? After 2005 when he got poorly, he virtually never worked again. About 10 or so years now since his last acting job. I remember a really good Victorian Tourisim commercial he was in many years ago. And I think he was also in one of the very first commercials for The Crown Casino? It is definitely Sweeney Todd and not The Barber Of Seville.

    A comment from Lorraine on Fri 22 Aug 2014 01:46 #

  217. Dean Measor was in both actually.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from rick miller on Wed 24 Sep 2014 03:22 #

  218. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAN!
    Love You! XOXO

    A comment from Female P C Amanda on Fri 03 Oct 2014 14:53 #

  219. Damien Richardson compared to Philip Seymour Hoffman?
    WTF???

    Robert Menzies and Jacek Korman ARE good actors.

    This is quite possibly the best Australian comedy film ever.

    Rating given: 8

    A comment from nova-K on Wed 08 Oct 2014 18:22 #

  220. I don't know so much about this movie, although I did enjoy it. I worked with Dean Measor way back in 1994 with The Australian Opera Company. (pre-Opera Australia) He was very physical and agile on stage back then and really really handsome too. He was not only gorgeous to look at, he was also a gorgeous and beautiful person as well. It upsets me to now know that he is in such poor health. It is freaking me out actually because when we last worked together he was performing acrobatics and detailed stage fighting. So to hear he is now virtually bed ridden and unable to work is very upsetting and sad indeed. I send him all my love and best wishes.

    A comment from Kelly on Thu 23 Oct 2014 00:34 #

  221. I can't get my hands on a copy of this movie anywhere! The distribution of this DVD has been deleted/dis-continued for a long while now. All the video rental stores I've been to have sold their copies of it? It must be the ONLY thing NOT posted on youtube! I had a VHS copy of it when it first came out but I no longer have a video player or the VHS and it is never shown on free to air television? Horseplay is a really awesome movie and it should get the recognition it deserves. It should also be re-released on DVD.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Audrey Simpson on Thu 23 Oct 2014 13:57 #

  222. The Melbourne Cup takes place in three days time in Australia. National holiday....This is the perfect time to show HORSEPLAY on free to air television.

    A comment from dave on Sat 01 Nov 2014 03:04 #

  223. Natalie Mendoza's performance seemed pretty weak, fake and shallow. Not very sincere or convincing. Comedy takes alot to master.

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from Melinda on Tue 18 Nov 2014 16:18 #

  224. I miss Bill Hunter.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Taylor Perez 89 on Wed 17 Dec 2014 02:52 #

  225. I don't know anything about the reviewer from this site, but by pure chance I heard about this movie from a client and I down-loaded it on New Years Eve.

    It's one of the best comedies I have seen and certainly the best movie made around and about horseracing and The Melbourne Cup.

    I highly recommend this movie despite the opinion of reviewer.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Lydia V. on Thu 01 Jan 2015 13:47 #

  226. I moved some
    furniture for the actor who played the jockey. It was pretty sad actually as he can hardly walk and he looks really frail in health. He was very hospitable to me. I would like to wish him all the best.

    Larry.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Larry Oxford on Wed 14 Jan 2015 15:07 #

  227. This is a comment for mainly Billy Simonds and Bernice: I saw Dean Measor coming out of The Valley Private Hospital in Mulgrave, Melbourne, on Thursday the 5th of March, 2015. His skull and his jaw was all bandaged up and he had something coming out of his mouth. He was also using a walking stick and looked very weak on his feet. He was being helped by some woman. He's obviously had surgery as it was the main entrance to the hospital where he was coming out from when I saw him. He looked absolutely terrible and it was fairly obvious that he was in a lot of pain. I could only just recgonise him unfortunately.

    It looks like he is still unwell.

    A comment from Dobby on Sun 08 Mar 2015 00:12 #

  228. I watched this movie once again on the weekend with my wife and adult daughter. Yacek Koman and Dean Measor are by FAR the most interesting actors in this film. Clear stand out supporting performances.
    Dean Measor had to quit acting because of poor health I think? Bill Hunter is also good in this film and is sadly missed. I also saw him in ON THE BEACH, the 1959 classic recently.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Bobby Dob on Mon 25 May 2015 04:47 #

  229. I met Dean Measor (Joe) in Horseplay, very recently at the ST JOHN OF GOD HOSPITAL in Melbourne's outer Eastern suburbs. He was very nice, polite and kind. He asked about my wife and our new born baby. He bought me and my wife Hot Chocolate. I watched this movie on you-tube via one of the girl actresse's show reel. (I think that was the way I did it? Can't quite remember now) Any way the movie was really funny and fast paced. I wish Dean Measor better luck and fortune with his health problems as he deserves it.
    John.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from John on Thu 20 Aug 2015 20:15 #

  230. Dean Measor is an actor whose true potential has NEVER been explored.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from JoJoPop on Thu 24 Aug 2017 15:33 #

  231. Dean Measor (born 3 October 1965) is an English actor, musician, singer and artist.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Steel lady on Tue 26 Sep 2017 19:57 #

  232. Happy birthday to dynamo actor Dean Measor!
    Happy Birthday!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Tom on Wed 18 Oct 2017 10:17 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.31 (213 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 10 Best Director Oscars and win 4 more Best Director Oscars, how many Best Director Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.