nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

Blurred (2002)

  Directed by: Evan Clarry
Starring: Jamie Croft, Jessica Gower, Craig Horner, Matthew Newton, Nathalie Roy, Kristian Schmid, Veronica Sywak
Links: Blurred on the IMDb
Genre: Comedy
Awards: AFI Awards: Best Film 2003 (nominee)

This movie gets: 3.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

"My lizard could write a better script" - a review by pearly

Schoolies Week is an Australian tradition. When you finish high school, you go to the Gold Coast in Queensland, and you run amok for a week. People come from all across the country to put the last thirteen years behind them, and forget about the future for a little while, whilst drinking extremely heavily, and pashing on with everyone they meet. At least, so I've heard.

I didn't do the schoolies thing. My friends from high school did, and I paid a deposit, but then I cancelled and went to the east coast of the USA for a few weeks with my cousin instead. My friends came back with some wild stories, but not quite as wild as the ones that the people in this movie could tell.

What you have with Blurred is a bunch of stereotypical gangs. There's the private school girls, the nerds, the country folk, the surfies, and so on. But that's all you've really got. Most of the characters are so stereotyped that they've lost any semblance of personality and individuality. And for a movie about schoolies week, it's surprising how little of it is actually set at the Gold Coast. Most of it is based around the drive to the coast (buses, trains and cars) or shot inside hotel rooms, with just occasional scenes at the beach.

This is Australia's attempt at making a movie like Road Trip (2000), and unfortunately, it's taken the concept too far and even tried to conclude the story with a moral about how important making new friends is. The biggest problem with this is that the people that this movie will appeal to will not care at all for this crappy "tender" moment at the end - a moment that seems extremely tacked on.

The writing is terrible, with many of the characters doing stupid things that real people would never do, in order to push the story along to the ending that is intended. Interested to know what Kristian Schmid has been doing for the last ten years? Answer: not much.

pearly gives this movie 3 out of 10.
Review created on Sat 20 Sep 2003

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 100%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 0%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. This movie is just a good one to watch before you go off to schoolies.. when ur in yr 12... makes u look foward alot more to actual thing!!!

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from Anon on Sat 01 Nov 2003 14:50 #

  2. I LOVE MATTHEW!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from mimana on Sat 26 Jun 2004 07:18 #

  3. This movie is great! I want to go back to the Gold Coast! Hillarious and moving.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from joe on Tue 13 Jul 2004 23:43 #

  4. Blurred is a great movie, which I really related to. Kristian was gorgeous as the romantic lead.
    I would recommend this movie for sure to friends.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Hol (http://kristianschmid.tripod.com/) on Mon 02 Aug 2004 13:03 #

  5. Crap movie - Gets you pumped for schoolies though.
    For that reason i've watched it about ten times this week !

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from King on Mon 01 Nov 2004 17:23 #

  6. Ive seen this movie at least 15 times. I basically know it word for word. Thats sad but hey im doing year 12 next year and every one is right it does get you pumped for schoolies! The Big K Man You rock. See ya in Shepp

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Liss on Wed 29 Dec 2004 23:48 #

  7. We didnt come from f**kin' whoopwhoop to go to f**kin funpark!. We came from f**kin whoopwhoop to go f**kin crazy!
    F**KIN' CRAZY!!!!!!!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Erika on Wed 29 Dec 2004 23:50 #

  8. Freeda? Whats up with you? Rodney is hot. he says should I come down and clean that up. You say no. You stupid fu*kin virgin

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Hayley on Wed 29 Dec 2004 23:55 #

  9. If ya all think it is such a crap movie why did ya all look it up on the internet? Aimed at Anon(stupid dickhead scared i'll track ya down if ya leave ya name?) and King Dickhead!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Matthome on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:00 #

  10. This movie is so f*ckin cool but i would like to have another blurred out with MORE about what they do as blurred is more just about getting up there.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from erin on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:15 #

  11. THIS MOVIE FUCKING ROCKS WHENS BLURRED 2 COMMING OUT!!! I WOULD STAR IN IT

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from erin on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:17 #

  12. how cross do you think they get?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Blurred Rox on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:20 #

  13. what?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from blah on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:21 #

  14. koalas how cross do they get?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from halb on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:21 #

  15. hahaha. Hehehehe (laughs)

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from blah on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:22 #

  16. Brings out the cattle prod. Zap

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from halb on Thu 30 Dec 2004 00:23 #

  17. I Loved the Movie Blurred, it had a GREAT cast, the people behind the movie it a GREAT JOB!!! and cuz it was based on the things that my friends and I got up to when we went.. My fav lines are number one "ive got a dress just like that" and "What the F**k is This.. C**t features, but master.. No, No uh ah.. Whats this" The only thing was that I don't think anybody went missing.. hehe
    C-ya

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Kiana on Tue 04 Jan 2005 21:56 #

  18. This movie is bloody awesome! Wayne and Calvin they are the movie. If you didn't have them there would be no movie. Oh and Rod ( Steven Rooke) What a hot guy!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Chloe on Tue 18 Jan 2005 15:42 #

  19. I thought the movie was so crap the only thing that got me going was seeing craig horners bare chest(hot)

    Rating given: 5

    A comment from betty on Mon 31 Jan 2005 17:39 #

  20. i f***ing love this movie man i mean the whole concept of it inspires me i watch it over and over and over i hop that in two years i can experiance that ohh i love it man WHOO HOO

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from tony mckenzie on Mon 02 May 2005 20:25 #

  21. i havn't seen the movie but now that everyone has liked it i will. but i am doing a SAC in scholl(Y11) on this topic and its a speech which i am agaisnt because its easy but i am not gonna go to the gold coast and get drunk because i am gonna do paintball or go to adelaide maybe. its the easyist and cheapest. i will get this movie now, thanks

    A comment from Rob Barny on Tue 18 Apr 2006 20:04 #

  22. gday im pigman i loved the movie. i am a rapest who loves the ladies. shit script but the two bogans made it a riper

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from the razor on Sun 07 Jan 2007 22:07 #

  23. oy pigman i wanna suk ur teeth. r u the tiger off the frosty flakes box coz u look grrrrrrrrrrrrrreat

    Rating given: 1

    A comment from halfwit on Sun 07 Jan 2007 22:10 #

  24. oi halfwit i have raped plenty of men in my time but u rank as the best, well the radios broken,,,,, its the mintest movie hero

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from razor on Sun 07 Jan 2007 22:17 #

  25. I liked the nerdy girl in the bus What's her name and what else has she done??

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Damien Sharkey on Mon 12 Feb 2007 18:06 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 8.96 (24 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 9 Best Actor Oscars and win 4 more Best Actor Oscars, how many Best Actor Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.