nofreelist.com
keyword
 
reviews (a to z)# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

home :: latest reviews :: reviewer profiles :: statistics :: diary :: links

A Killer's Blues (Bin yuen sui yuet) (1990)

  Directed by: Raymond Lee
Starring: Lung Ti
Links: A Killer's Blues on the IMDb, Buy on DVD
Genre: Action

This movie gets: 8.00 (1 rating)
nofreelist.com Ranking: not yet ranked (awaiting 2 ratings)

"A crime story with a difference" - a review by timchuma

In 1975, a gang hitman named Ah Ming takes out a man who betrayed the 'Big Boss'. Something that complicates matters is the fact that the man had a 4 year old daughter.

As he feels guilty, he decides to adopt the girl and gets his girlfriend, Ah Wai, to look after her while he does a job for his boss in America.

However, things don't go as planned and he is sentenced to 14 years for murder. Meanwhile, the girl he adopted, Ah Shuet, grows up, and is in Form 6 at High School and has a (sort of) boyfriend by the time Ah Ming comes back.

She knows him as 'Uncle Ming' as she has been receiving letters from him for the past 14 years (she thinks he is working over in the US though).

When Ming arrives back, the Big Boss takes him aside to talk to him about what has happened while he has been inside. The situation is that the Second Boss in the gang has gotten rich by drug and weapons smuggling and is trying to take over the gang.

Things are not helped by the Big Boss and Second Boss' sons, who are hot-heads and are always getting into trouble, which leads to tensions between groups in the gang.

Back at the restaurant where Ah Wai and Ah Shuet live, Ming meets Shuet's boyfriend who is angry with her for standing him up. Ming takes him aside and tells him to mind his manners or he will beat him up.

Another flare-up in gang violence, caused by the Big Boss's son, leads to Ming having to rescue him from the clutches of the Second Boss and shoot his way out (not before copping a machete in the back.)

Back at Ah Wai's place, Ah Shuet is waiting up for Ming (again) and she peeks in the bathroom to check on him, only to find him covered in blood. After she helps him get patched up, Shuet tells Ming she loves him, something which he takes exception to and he decides to tell her the truth...

This was quite and enjoyable crime/gang movie with good characters and some excellent action scenes (the funeral scene is the best).

timchuma gives this movie 8 out of 10.
Review created on Mon 13 Sep 2004

Movie review statistics

Number of reviews: 1
 
Rating Percentage
1 
 0%
2 
 0%
3 
 0%
4 
 0%
5 
 0%
6 
 0%
7 
 0%
8 
 100%
9 
 0%
10 
 0%

Reader comments

  1. This is truy a great movie. I liked my favourite actress Fennie Yuen Kit Ying's acting. I'm hoping to see this on the 11th February on the third day of our big Hong Pao day. I had already send a letter to Xing Kong info.startv.com. Hope they will not let any other new film interfere with our old given time.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Priscilla Liu on Sat 29 Jan 2005 23:32 #

  2. I liked this movie. It's action was cool. I am the younger brother of Priscilla, the girl who commented this movie. We both are expecting to see this on our third big Hong Pao day, the day which might upset people who are not expecting new movies to interrupt their programs' timings. We also hope this movie " The Killer's Blues " would be presented on 11th February at the given time sharp. If not, we will be very sorrowful. By the way, my sister has suffered from many problems only to see this movie and has waited for two complete years! I hope I'm not silly to mention our own problems, but we're really expecting to see it. Anyway, my conclusion is this movie is great, and those should buy it who are action fans! I hope the readers of our comments will pity on us, although we're Chinese but to tell you the truth we are citizens of Lahore in Pakistan. But now we're about to formally visit Hong Kong, the glorious country. So please, we're begging you to help us. Do just this small favor. If impossible, then write to Hopson@hotmail.com. in this site, if permitted. Please help us! God bless Cinema City! Amen.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Matthew Liu on Tue 01 Feb 2005 01:19 #

  3. Hmmm...A Killer's Blues is one of the coolest movies ever presented. Normally, I don't watch too much movies but I like action ones. I wonder if I am permitted to review it or not? Well, it's my choice. But let me add one thing; it is very difficult to catch this movie on TV. Back from college I switched on my TV on the 28th of January and to my surprise they presented this movie! But alas, the lights went out. I was very angry and depressed. One thing for sure, old is gold. And I like old movies. Not like new youngsters' movie makers of 2000 and onwards. I hate it! But it doesn't matter. Actually, I would like to request Xing Kong Wei Shi to present A Killer's Blues on the eleventh of February on behalf of myself and of those two kids comments above. Now don't you think that I am related to those two. But I vote for Xing Kong to present it on our given time! If not, I might dislike the company. But I've been watching this channel for a couple of years now. If you will not present it, Xing Kong, then present it very soon afterwards. I would still like to watch it on our third Chinese Lucky Money day. My hopes are high. Now, if you will present some new movie in place of it I will be very depressed. And depression leads to diseases. So I hope you will present it. Now, in 1975 Lung Ti kills a betrayer of the Big Boss. He didn't have mercy on the man, even though he told Ti that he had a four year daughter to look after. After killing him, Ti felt kind of guilty and decided to adopt the little girl who had seen her father killed. He asks Olivia Cheng to take care of the little girl and goes to some foreign country for important matters. After fourteen years, the little girl grows up and she is Fennie Yuen Kit Ying, my fav. actress! Only to suffer so much problems, Ti decided he can't hide the truth.
    Everybody vote for Xing Kong to present it! My brother Scorpio will also review it downwards tomorrow or so! Good luck, Xing Kong. And you'll lose an admirer if you fail to present it on our given time. That'll be pretty unfair. Hoping to have a good response or you'll see. Goodbye for the time being.

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Gemini J. Ka.F on Fri 04 Feb 2005 02:10 #

  4. So my so called younger brother has reviewed it before me, eh? Well, I am even rougher than him. I request but also demand Xing Kong NOT TO LET ANY NEW MOVIE INTERFERE WITH A KILLER'S BLUES SUPPOSED TO BE PRESENTED ON 11TH FEBRUARY TONIGHT AT 11:30 P.M.! THIS WILL RUIN OUR HAPPINESS! EVERYBODY IS SUPPOSED TO BE HAPPY ON MONEY, MONEY AND MONEY DAY, SO WHY CAN'T WE BE? Sorry to raise my demand so high, but I'm requesting you on bended kness. Why, I'm even willing to donate $ 100 for only this. I had time so decided to review it today. See ya guys! Hope to see this or else...goodbye (note: my father is a policeman so don't disappoint us).

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Scorpio on Fri 04 Feb 2005 02:14 #

  5. Hello, friends! Thank you for visiting great Xing Kong Wei Shi's webiste. I see the two brothers above had played it a little rough but I can also be temperamental. Same as the case with me, I would like to request Xing Kong not to let any new film interfere with A Killer's Blues. I AM EXPECTING TO SEE IT, YOU READ ME? I am not a rough guy but am a scholar. The characters starring are Fennie Yuen, Olivia Cheng, Lung Ti, Mark Cheng, Roy Cheung blah blah blah! Xing Kong, you have many requesting fans expecting to see it! Sorry I could not buy the DVD, but if you will present it then I will. Goodbye.

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from JO on Fri 04 Feb 2005 02:17 #

  6. Back in 1975, Ming(Ti Lung takes away the life of a betrayer of their big boss, who was forced to do so. The only spicy problem was;the man had a four year old daughter. Feeling guilty, Ti decided to adopt the little girl. He asks his girlfriend Ah Wai(Olivia Cheng)to look after the girl in his absence. Fourteen years pass by and the little girl grows up. She is Ming Shuet(Fennie Yuen), a cute actress from The Happy Little Girls Troupe. By the time Ti comes back, Fennie has a sort of boyfriend called Stephen(I don't really know him). On the other hand, the second boss had gotten rich by smuggling drugs etc., and his son Ah Chung(Roy Cheung)and the big boss's son Ah Kit(Mark Cheng)are arch rivals of each other, which cause trouble for everyone.On the other hand, saving Mark from the second boss's hands was not an easy task. Ti and Lo Lien managed to get out of the big boss's territory by jumping out of a window, not long before having a knife slash Ti's back the moment he jumped down, close to a door to the second boss's place.Back home, Fennie waits for Ti while drinking a can of beer, only to find him covered in blood in the washroom. After getting him cleaned up, Fennie tells Ti that she loves him. But this situation is critical, and Ti has to tell her the cold truth...who is the real killer of her father...

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Ping on Sat 12 Feb 2005 23:34 #

  7. Such a great movie...uh oh! Sorry to dream about it again. Actually, my opinion is that this is the second best action movie ever released from Cinema City, everyone favourite movies company. Well, Cinema City is also one of the best and my favourite too. So shall I get to the bottom of this? Back in 1975, Ming(Ti Lung)pumps his pistol at a man, a betrayer of their big boss. The spicy, cardboard taste problem was that the man had a four year old daughter. Feeling guilty for what he did, Ti adopts the little girl and asks his girlfriend Ah Wai(Olivia Cheng)to look after her while he's away in U.S.A.Fourteen years pass by, and the little girl grows up. She is Ming Shuet(Fennie Yuen), a very cute princess from The Happy Little Girls Troupe! She is the cutest member of the six. If she has read this comment from me, I hope she's happy to see so many fans. Above all are also her fans from the informal way they wrote. Now, back to the movie. Problems arise, and one accident made Ti decide to tell Fennie the unbearable truth...

    A comment from J.T.G on Sat 19 Feb 2005 02:15 #

  8. Yawn! Boring fighting movies makes me sick...but this is one good action film that I cannot resist getting my eyes on! I would like to give it a good title, that is ' Honey is bees' money, and money is gangsters' honey '! How's that for shot? Well, although my exams are coming I still decided to give our bloodthirsty gangsters...oops! I mean review readers a dose of this cool action movie. Honestly, I'm not actually in the mood to review the plot now as it has been done by Priscilla and Matthew Liu, Gemini J. Ka. F, Scorpio, JO, Ping and J.T.G above. Many reviewers and fans of this movie, I see. So, I won't bother with the plot as I've said before but there's only one thing I wanna add, and that is to buy this movie. Watch the bloodthirty second boss's rang rip the flesh of the blood spitting big boss's gang, and everything ends in tragedy with the characters separated. But especially watch the short hair, cute, thin and fragile Fennie Yuen Kit Ying, my favourite actress of all time!

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Eccentric on Sun 27 Feb 2005 19:53 #

  9. All I can say is...it's good...it's big...it's loud...it's fun!

    Rating given: 9

    A comment from Eccentric on Wed 06 Apr 2005 02:25 #

  10. Sigh! Fennie...she made this movie a wonderful one. The plot is intriguing and full of suspense. I should give it a full rating, shouldn't I?

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Crazy Scorpion on Thu 22 Jun 2006 02:37 #

  11. Ah! What sweet bliss. The actresses Fennie and Olivia made the movie my fav! But I think Fennie is much better looking as she's far younger than olivia. Still...

    Rating given: 10

    A comment from Crazy Scorpion's twin on Thu 22 Jun 2006 02:39 #

Those who have commented give this movie: 9.60 (10 ratings)

Add a comment

Your name:
URL:
Email address:
Make public?
Anti-Spam question:To prove you're not a horrible spam-leaving robot, please answer the following question (use numbers):
If I have 9 Best Achievement in Editing Oscars and win 3 more Best Achievement in Editing Oscars, how many Best Achievement in Editing Oscars do I have?
Comment:
Rate this movie:

You may use the <em>emphasis</em> and <strong>strong emphasis</strong> HTML tags. URLs beginning with ‘http://’ will be turned into links. Line breaks will display as entered.